Tags

, , , , ,

My day? Friday morning I WAS going to ride my bicycle to work. I checked the tires on Thursday evening at 6:00 p.m. and all was good. At 7:00 a.m., my back tire was flat. Doh! I really, really do not want to change a tire at 7:00 a.m. (or at any other time to tell you the truth). So I drove to work. The flat should have bothered me more, but I wouldn’t let it. You have to think on the positive side (see the featured book in this post). I put the ride off until later in the day. And that is just what I did. I still got 17 miles in, and I am a happy camper.

Sometimes you are the pigeon, and sometimes you are the… no wait. Sometimes you are the bear and sometimes… that is not right either. What do bears do? Sometimes you are the rabbit, and other times you are the turtle. That’s it! As I was riding down the Greenline, I saw this turtle crossing the path. Good. Luck. Dude.

turtle greenline shelby farms

And you thought you had a tough day.

I stopped to look at some changes to the “Memphis” sign along the Greenline at the Waring intersection, (just west of Waring).

memphis greenline

I was always to busy to stop to look at the newest addition. Good stuff.

memphis greenline 2

If you have noticed large orange traffic cones on E. Parkway S. near C.B.U., it is because the city and C.B.U. are planting trees and flowers on the median.

CBU E Parkway S construction

I spoke to a parks rep today while on my bike ride. He said the university has spent a large amount of money for the city to add plants and trees to median. The work should be completed by the first week of September, or earlier.

Since my IPhone decided to go bonkers on me several months ago, a good portion of my music was wiped out. Instead of attempting to reload all of the music from several sources, I decided to go with a Sandisk wireless memory stick from Amazon.com.

sandisk wireless drive

The stick cost around $30 but I am happy with the product. The device connects via wifi to most phones and tablets. You can set a password for the memory stick and let a couple of other people share the data at the same time. The battery is supposed to last 4 hours. 64 gigs total memory. The initial setup was troublesome, but after I “turned it off, turned it back on again”, the thing worked perfectly. Hello music!

Books? I got books. After going several months without anything to read, I got books. Empire of Imagination, Kingdom of Darkness, and The Revelation Code.

books i am reading

Paul Ryburn recommended a book on his blog.

Life Is Good Book

I decided to bite. And the book “Life is Good” is good. I enjoy reading some positive books every now and then, to put my life into perspective. Years ago I was complaining to a guy I knew about some random thing. He just looked at me and said, “Are you kidding? You ride your bike to work every day. People would LOVE to have your life.” I smiled and agreed with him. I really do not have much to complain about.

And I downloaded a FREE game recently. I guess the D and D thing rubbed off on me, so I checked out Angband.

angband

 

The game is very old school. You can play the game with or without graphics. (Me: WITH graphics). Just a good dungeon crawler you can play on your PC.

After getting some coffee at Muddys Grind House on Saturday, I wheeled on over to Central BBQ for some takeout pig.

BBQ Bicycle Basket Memphis

BBQ, bike and basket. That’s how I roll.

Sunday? Beer and waffles at Bosco’s.

Beer and waffles Memphis

Reminds me of Amsterdam.

Speaking of beer, Tallgrass has Raspberry Jam SOUR beer. Oink. I highly recommend this stuff. Get yours at Joes Liquor.

raspberry jam tallgrass beer.

I was out for a ride EARLY Sunday morning, when I spotted this on a busy street in  east Memphis. That’s very cool.

Bicycle Planter Memphis

Then I spotted THIS at Overton Square.

Bicycle Planter Overton Square memphis

Coincidence? I think not.

Get on that bicycle and ride Memphis. See YOU back here for more bbq, bikes, beers and waffles.