Tags

, , , , ,

Weekend Memphis. Get out.

I have been getting out lately. Events in the past, beer and food pairing this evening, and film events in the near future. If you are bored in Memphis, it is your own doing.

Last week, we headed over to Broad Avenue for the “Lighting of the Tower” and Fall Art Walk. (one of my favorite photo’s below)

Broad Ave Arts District

Broad Avenue Fall Artwalk 2015 Memphis TN

If you were hungry, you came to the right place. More food trucks were at the event than ever on Broad Avenue. That is a good thing. On the downside, it appeared there were fewer art vendors this year. The loading dock that also does double duty as a stage was only a stage Friday evening.

We waited for the clock to strike ZERO…

Broad Avenue Memphis Water Tower Lighting

Then the tower lit up.

Broad Avenue Memphis Water Tower Lighting

We also noticed the new art installation / bus stop on Broad Avenue.

Broad Avenue Memphis TN bus stop

While picking up some drinkey drink at Busters on Highland, I found that the new growler station was up and running. Nice set up too. I looked at the sign displaying the prices and did a double take.

Busters Memphis Growler Station

Those are some GOOD prices for a growler. And I checked, you can use your own growlers at Busters for refills, they do not have to be the Busters growlers.

I also picked up some Sailor Jerry rum. Yo ho, yo ho…

Sailor Jerry Rum

More beer news. Taste the Flavors craft beer and food pairing. Place? Just For Lunch (Next to the library on Poplar). TODAY! Starting at 6:00 p.m.

Taste the Flavors Memphis Beer Event

I will have a few beers and food. Sounds like a plan… man.

britishtelevision2

If you want a good laugh, check out the Arrow Awards at the Brooks Museum next week. We have been to this event several times in the past and the “best of U.K. commercial awards show” is a good one. Tickets $9. Wednesday 11/18/15, Sat. 11/21/15 & Sun. 11/22/15. Go! Expect a good turn out as well, so do not wait to purchase tickets for the event.

Oh yeah, I purchased a new tire. Hand made, in Germany.

Continental Bicycle Tires

I live off of these tires. I do find that Conti cuts down on my flat tires tremendously. The only draw back? These tires are a finger breaker to install. No, really they are. Even with a tire jack, these tires have a reputation of breaking your fingers when trying to place them on the rim. It’s just that last section of the tire…. that is always the most difficult… to get over the edge of the rim.

The Misfits. Love ’em. My wife found a shirt at Walmart.

misfits tshirt walmart

The best part? Check out the price.

misfits shirt price tag

Can’t beat that price.

Oh yeah, I received a rice krispie treat bigger than my head.

Gigantic rice krispie treat

And yes, I ate the whole thing.

Done. See you back here for more Memphis beer, films and events.

Cheer.