Tags

, , , , , ,

Weekend Memphis. Okay not for you, but it is for me. I started my weekend a bit early Sunday after work. Hammer and Ale in Cooper Young. Oktoberfest. Let the games begin! I began with this beauty of a beer.

Yazoo hefe Hammer and Ale Memphis

The beer is so beautiful, it makes you want to cry.

Hey, don’t forget the brats!

Hammer and Ale Memphis Brat

There really is a brat “somewhere” under all of that good stuff.

GET THIS! Delicious!

GET THIS! Delicious!

I ordered myself the brat, two beers and the pretzels with mustard. Excellent. Thank you Hammer and Ale for putting on a good event. Cool and relaxed, just the way I like my parties.

Soooo…. If you didn’t see this already, Shelby Farms has a new water fountain at the beginning of the new section of the Greenline at the top of Shelby Farms. The new water fountain is right next to the bicycle repair station.

Shelby farms Memphis bicycle repair station

I watched as the crew installed the new water fountain.

Shelby farms Memphis water fountain

This will come in very handy on the days I forget to take water on my ride. Got a dog? There is even a bowl for your four-legged friend.

Shelby farms Memphis water fountain

Thank you Shelby Farms!

If you haven’t tried the new City Market location in Cooper Young, do it. We picked up a sandwich a couple of times now. Here is how the sandwich looked.

City Market Cooper Young Memphis

You want meat? You got it.

City Market Cooper Young Memphis

The bread is goooood. Try out City Market for a quick bite, or if you just don’t feel like cooking. And the menu:

City Market Cooper Young Menu

Done! See YOU back here for more brats, beers and City Market sandwiches. Cheers.

Memphis Events:

Salsa? Yes the first Southern Salsa Festival. October 11th. 12- 9:30 p.m. on Broad Avenue. $5. I love me the salsa. Go!

crazy good pineapple salsa

October 17th. The coolest fest of them all. Cooper Young Beer Festival. In Cooper Young. 1-5 p.m. $40 (goes up to $45 Oct. 1st) THIS EVENT WILL SELL OUT! Do not wait to get tickets! I have attended every year. Best beer event in town hands down. It’s just cool people hanging, chatting, drinking good beer. Go!

cooper young regional beer festival 2013

COOPER YOUNG REGIONAL BEERFEST

Cooper Young Beer Festival

River Arts Festival. October 23rd/ 24th / 25th. $5 Saturday and Sunday. Friday night FREE. South Main Downtown. Go! We attend every year. Although this year we will probably go Friday evening since we will be out-of-town Saturday and Sunday.

River Arts Fest 2011 Memphis

RIVER ARTS FESTIVAL 2014 MEMPHIS

Broad Avenue Fall Artwalk is right around the corner as well. When I get the date, I will post it.

Broad Ave Arts District

***The dates and times above are from 2013.

easter Island metal rocket

easter island rocket

Again. If you are bored Memphis, it is your own fault. Plenty to see and do in town. Get out!