Tags

,

Weekend Memphis. Get out.

As I was reading the blog of Paul Ryburn today (which I do daily) who covers downtown Memphis news, beer and events, I discovered this warning:

“Alert for Midtowners: Jumper Cable Guy has been seen in the vicinity of Slider Inn the past week. Jumper Cable Guy is a scammer who claims that his truck won’t start, and he needs to borrow your jumper cables. When you show them to him, he will say that your jumper cables are not industrial-strength enough to start his truck, and he will ask you for money so he can go buy the jumper cables he needs. He scammed people in the Downtown core and South Main by the Civil Rights Museum for years.”

Why did this warning stick out? The same guy attempted to scam me two years ago at Republic Coffee. His story was he needed jumper cables for his daughter. When I pulled out my jumper cables, he said the cables were not good enough to start the car. WHAT??? And I turned down his request for money to purchase “heavy duty” jumper cables. Thank you for the warning.

Last Friday I left work and discovered I didn’t have my water bottle. Nor did I have water in my Camelbak. What to do? Oh yeah, the Shelby Farms Bicycle Rental shed sells water.

SHELBY FARMS BICYCLE RENTAL MEMPHIS TN

The last attempt at buying water there was a failure; I only had a credit card. So he gave us water for free. I make my way to the bicycle rental shed and make another attempt at buying water. I am carrying cash this time. The guy working said he didn’t have any water to sell, but did have some cold water in a jug. He was waiting to get off work, and said I could take as much water as I needed. Excellent. Because I needed some water. Very cool Shelby Farms Bicycle Rental dude. Much appreciated.

Say cheese.

VARIOUS CHEESE

Lots of cheese. My wife picked up four different cheeses to taste. My new addiction. LOVE the cheese. And I must try different types of cheeses. It’s a whole new world.

cheese

I saw this car on Union Avenue Saturday.

DUCT TAPE BLUE TARP CAR MEMPHIS TN

Who says vehicle inspections in Memphis are unneeded? I mean this car is held together by duct tape and a tarp. Wow. Don’t bother with a body shop.

Jelly Belly. Beer. And then worlds collide and boom! You get this:

BEER FLAVORED JELLY BELLY

Can the world get any better? Beer flavored treats.

Also on Saturday more treats.

DONUT BROWNIE ICE CREAM DISH

Yes, that really is a donut, a brownie AND ice cream in the bowl. Who says I don’t live large.

After I picked up some beer at Hammer and Ale,

Joe's Growlers Memphis

I stopped by Easy Way for some fruit. Yes, my bicycle basket contains half a watermelon, cantaloupe and bananas.

BICYCLE BASKET WITH FRUIT

Good thing my basket is big.

Busy weekend, but my laundry is done, my commuter bag is packed and I am ready for Monday.

Done. See YOU back here for more bikes, beers and donuts.

