Tags

,

Weekend Memphis. Get out!

Work, bicycles, and beer.

Two Boots Abita

Two Boots beer to be exact. One state and one country equal two BOOTS. Italy and Louisiana to be exact. The fine folks at Abita helped to produce this fine beverage. So what is the big deal? Lemon, honey and pepper. The drink is very light. You can easily taste the pepper. It is not until later that you feel the burn from inside. Wow. I really enjoy this beer. Busters carries Two Boots at $5 for a large bottle. Go get some. (I recently picked up two bottles myself)

I was able to get some two wheeling action in last week. Shelby Farms is continuing to work on the bike / ped path around the new portion of the lake.

Shelby Farms Construction

And… Bike lanes on Union? Whattttt? Yes, bike lanes are coming to Union Ave. Don’t start your plans to ride from downtown all the way to the Union Ave viaduct in midtown. The bike lanes on Union will be located closer to the medical area.

“The bike lanes in the Union project will complement those to be striped at major intersections in The Edge and the Medical District, he said (Kyle Wagenshutz). In the next 18 months, new lanes will be striped around Marshall, Pauline, Manassas, and Dunlap.”

I do plan to use the bike lanes since The Edge area is where High Cotton Brewery is located.

High Cotton Brewery Patio

Read more about the Union bike lanes in the Memphis Flyer here.

Speaking of beer and bicycles, I made my way over to Hammer and Ale on Cooper to get a growler filled. The guys behind the bar know beer, so if you have questions, please ask. Although I have a basket for the beer to go into, I really need to look into a growler carrier for the bicycle. And… I do need to stop by Memphis Made and have a beer.

Memphis Made Brewery

The brewery is two blocks from home. There is no excuse.

Done! See YOU back here for more beers, bikes and more beers. Cheers.

