Tags

,

Weekend Memphis. Get out!

Yes, other than work, I was out riding around Memphis.

Shelby Farms Green Line Memphis

Shelby Farms Green Line Memphis

Some random stuff. I now know EXACTLY how long it takes me to ride to and from Hammer and Ale in Cooper Young to refill some growlers. 37 minutes. My problem? I have to take 1 full growler and 2 half growlers. Gotta make some choices when it comes to beer.

2015-06-06 12.39.53

Today I picked up some Blue Pants Sour, and Yazoo Hefe. Oink.

I also stopped by Coffee Town for some good stuff this morning.

COFFEE

My problem? Finding a place to park the bicycle.

2015-06-06 10.54.03

Put up a bike rack and apparently EVERYONE rides a bike to the coffee shop.

In other bicycle news, get ready for the GREEN WAY. (Taller cousin of the Greenline). A new trail will run north and south, following the Wolf River. 18 MORE MILES! AWESOME! I can’t wait for the trail to be complete. Read all about the new trail here. And make sure you check out the trail map (pdf). This is an excellent project for Memphis.

As I was riding to work the other day I noticed something different at Farm Road and Shelby Farms. Oh yeah… trees. More trees to be exact.

Shelby Farms New Trees

Farm Road is looking good. The construction crew is installing the new bike / ped path around the larger lake.

One recent purchase was a Topeak Pocket air pump. (remember my last one was stolen from my bicycle a couple of weeks ago) No, I didn’t read the directions. After 30 minutes, I figured the thing out. You have to take out the plastic insert (BOTH PIECES) and reset them in order to pump a tire with a Schrader valve. Apparently I was not the only person that was confused by the looks of Youtube.

And I also purchased a bicycle carrier for the car. In the past I would just throw the bicycle into the back of my truck. Since I purchased a CAR, transporting the bicycle is not as easy. (Take front tire off, fit into back seat) The downside of purchasing the carrier? Delivery will take 10 days. Where is the thing shipping from???

More bicycle thoughts? I am contemplating taking the bus to work with my bicycle (or nearly to work, Baptist Hospital East Memphis) then riding the last few miles to work. Then I can ride back home in the evening. The real cause is my work day begins at 7:30 now. It’s either that, or leave for work at 6:00 a.m. driving the car with bicycle and riding the bike from 6:30 a.m. – 7:15 a.m. around Shelby Farms.

Another thought is to ride to work Monday (I begin work at 8:45 a.m.) and ride on Friday (I begin work at 8:45 a.m.) Options to think about.

Done. See YOU out and about in Memphis.

