Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Weekend Memphis. Are you exhausted? I know I am.

Saturday I took the bicycle to Coffee Town mid-morning. Beauty day for a ride. After the news and a cup of Memphis mud, I was ready to hit the streets again.

Next stop? The Memphis Food Truck Festival at Tiger Lane.

Memphis Food Truck Festival Logo

I expected a few people to show up at the event. I was wrong. There was more than a few people who showed up.

Food Truck Festival Memphis 2015

The line for the Soup and Cheese truck as well as the Cajun food truck was lonnnnng. As much as I wanted to, I couldn’t stand in those long lines. I do hope the food truck festival happens again. But I would arrive much sooner to avoid the lines.

On the ride over to Tiger Lane, I found this sign outside of Aldo’s Midtown.

Aldo's Midtown Memphis

The joint has an upstairs balcony. I remember asking myself before the place opened where everyone would sit. The interior looked small. Now I know. I may have to go by and have a beer on the patio one day.

Saturday evening we went out to a well known Memphis restaurant. An expensive restaurant as well. The food? Great. The service? The waitress started out good enough and then service went downhill quickly. At times it appeared she was ignoring our table. +$35 for a plate with bad service? Not going back.

After dinner we stopped by Overton Square for a drink. Most places were crowded. The Zebra Lounge was open with a few empty chairs. It is the first time I had stepped inside.

zEBRA lOUNGE mEMPHIS

I will say the live entertainment was very good.

Sunday consisted of coffee

Love in a cup.

Love in a cup.

and a good book.

(From the Memphis Library! I LOVE downloading books from the library for FREE! I would have purchased the book. Thanks Memphis Library!)

My wife picked up a chamoy melon cup at La Michoacana.

MELON CHAMOY

Love in a cup.

Party. April 25th. Memphis Made Brewery.

Memphis Made Brewing Company will celebrate the arrival of the new season with Hopped, a spring beer release party. This event will also celebrate their taproom being open on Saturdays (right now they are only open on Fridays.) The event will take place in the brewery’s parking lot (near the I Love Memphis mural). There will be spring beers on tap, live music from the Mighty Souls Brass Band and Goner Records, food trucks, Aldo’s Pizza, and more.

  • When: Saturday, April 25, Noon-6pm (taproom open until 9pm)
  • Cost: Free, All Ages
  • Where: Memphis Made Brewing, 768 Cooper St.

Bikesmith, the mobile bike shop, will also be parked at the brewery during the event. Any attendees who ride their bike to the event will be entered in a raffle to win prizes such as a growler of Memphis Made Brewing beer each month for a year, as well as other prizes. The first 100 customers will received a Hopped pint glass.

Along with Memphis Made’s regular line up, a few of the new beers on tap will be:

  • Waka Waka Too, an IPA brewed with lime peel
  • Rockbone Wood, a barrel-aged IPA
  • McFuggle, a Scottish IPA
  • All Sewn Up, an English Pale Ale only available at the Lucero Family Picnic and Hopped.

Oh yeah, the V & E art walk is almost here, April 25th 2015.

V and E Artwalk 2015

I went last year and the year before. Nice stuff sold at the event. I usually find something to purchase.

v and e artwalk 2014 sign

where are you going v and e

v and e artwalk 2014

MORE CRAWFISH? You bet.

Crawfish

April 26th 2-6 p.m. Heads or Tails All You Can Eat Crawfish Boil. Sweetgrass in Cooper Young.

$20 prepay / $25 day of.

Done. Look below for MORE Memphis events. If you are bored, you are not trying. Get out!

More events coming up Memphis:

How about a rare beer? Wiseacre Brewery has the 2nd annual “Taste the Rarity” brewfest coming up. May 9th, 3-7, on Broad Ave. Check out the event and buy tickets here. My guess? This event will sell out. Get your tickets soon.

wiseacre taproom

And now… on to hot wings? Memphis has you covered. The Southern Hot Wing Festival takes place April 25th, Riverside Dr. Advanced tickets $10, at the gate $12. The event takes place 11 a.m. – 7 p.m. I go to this event every year.

wingsfestivalad 2011

Tommy Want Wingy

After you get into the event, stand in line at a booth, pay a donation and sample some great wings from great teams. Every year I believe I will sample each and every booth. Doesn’t happen. Some wings are better than others. Take some $1 bills, donate and sample the wings. Love me the wings.

