Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Spring has arrived. Finally, Memphis is out of the snow. Time for a special post; double wide, super sized, with fries.

This morning, I brushed off my bicycle and rolled down the street. It has been two months since I have used my bicycle. Probably a record for me. Due to the flu I acquired in the month of February and my busy work weeks in March, I had little time to ride. Today I changed that. Heading up to Coffee Town, I saw I was not the only one to be riding around Memphis.

bicycle memphis

It was also good bad to know that motorists continue to ignore the red light at Highland and the Greenline. Some things never change. Many people were using the Greenline today. I guess most in Memphis have cabin fever and want to get out. Good ride today. My guess is I spent two hours rolling around town. I am slightly saddle sore, but I will get over that. My speed was slower than usual as well.

Since the weather has warmed up, there are many events lined up here in Memphis. First up? Found Footage. Studio on the Square. Thursday April 2nd, 7:00 p.m. DON’T WAIT TO GET TICKETS. THIS EVENT SELLS OUT! I have been to this event twice in the past. I was crying I was laughing so hard. Two dudes find HORRIBLE VHS footage, and show the really, really bad VHS tapes to the audience. GO TO THIS EVENT!

Beer. Events. Memphis. Drink. Several.

cooper young regional beer festival 2013

From the Downtown Memphis Flying Saucer Facebook Page:

Sunday, April 12 at 11:00 a.m. Join us for a downtown Bicycle Ride along the Mississippi and Main street. Poker run for great prizes. Share a Pint with us following the ride at the Flying Saucer. Registration starts at 11am, Ride at 12. $10 to ride. Sponsored by Yazoo Brewery.”

Memphis Brewfest is almost here. April 18th, 4-7:30, Autozone Park. This event sells out. Don’t wait for tickets. I have been to this event in the past. Lots of beer to try downtown.

How about a rare beer? Wiseacre Brewery has the 2nd annual “Taste the Rarity” brewfest coming up. May 9th, 3-7, on Broad Ave. Check out the event and buy tickets here. My guess? This event will sell out. Get your tickets soon.

wiseacre taproom

And now… on to Mudbugs.

The Overton Square Crawfish Festival, April 11, 12 p.m. – 6 p.m. Listen to some music, have a drink and eat some mudbugs.

Overton Square Crawfish

Sunday April 19th 11 a.m. – 6 p.m. The Rajun Cajun Crawfish Festival Downtown Memphis, Wagner Place and Riverside Drive, between Union and Beale. This event is huge. Get there early to avoid that long line to get your bucket of crawfish.

Rajun Cajun Crawfish Festival

Wait. What about hot wings? Memphis has you covered. The Southern Hot Wing Festival takes place April 25th, Riverside Dr. Advanced tickets $10, at the gate $12. The event takes place 11 a.m. – 7 p.m. I go to this event every year.

wingsfestivalad 2011

Tommy Want Wingy

After you get into the event, stand in line at a booth, pay a donation and sample some great wings from great teams. Every year I believe I will sample each and every booth. Doesn’t happen. Some wings are better than others. Take some $1 bills, donate and sample the wings. Love me the wings.

Done. See YOU back here for more beers, bikes, mudbugs and wings. Cheers.

gordon biersch wheat beer

 

