Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Weekend Memphis. Get out!

Spring is in full force. Although there are some showers in Memphis, at least snow is not falling on the city. Busy weekend, and a few news stories to comment on as well.

Last night, my wife and I watched the film Dracula Untold.

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00RW1J8RG/ref=as_li_tl?ie=UTF8&camp=1789&creative=9325&creativeASIN=B00RW1J8RG&linkCode=as2&tag=livlouinmid-20&linkId=75YPYYGUBIMZPK22

Good dvd to watch. The movie could have been worse. At least there were two actors in a cast of several hundred. And the special effects were good as well. The story was okay, except for the very end of the film, which I didn’t get at all.

Waking early this morning, I headed over to Coffee Town to read the news and have some coffee. As I was reading the Commercial Appeal, I came across this article.

Bicycle Headline Commercial Appeal

Excellent. I am familiar with this type of equipment that helps both motorists and cyclists. Now if the same could be done on Madison as you cross over 240, that would be a great improvement for rider safety. Read the story here, or here:

Memphis Buffer for cyclists

Another article caught my eye in the latest edition of the Memphis Flyer (the March 12 #1359 edition). Sidewalks in Memphis. If you wonder why people walk in the streets in Memphis, it is because of the terrible condition our sidewalks have become. Years ago, I posted an entire rant on the condition of sidewalks in this city.

GE DIGITAL CAMERA

I am not sure how anyone can walk, run or use a wheelchair on some of the sidewalks in this city. The article from the Memphis Flyer goes on to state the city of Memphis budgets $100,000 per year for sidewalks. But the city actually spent $334,000 over the last 10 years on sidewalk repair. You do the math. If you want the sidewalks to be maintained, the city should spend $19 million each year. With a budget of $334,000, Memphis can replace sidewalks in the city in 11,000 years. Wow. We doing good here. These numbers line up with city council proposing that the streets in Memphis should be repaved every 75 years. Yeah…. right. That’ll work. YOU can read the story from the Memphis Flyer here.

Later in the day I went to Epic Salon in east Memphis for a hair cut from Pam. (She is excellent! 712 S Mendenhall Rd, Memphis, TN 38117 (901) 818-5501) Gus’s Fried Chicken is next door. And, a used bookstore is across the street.

Chicken Car. Chicken you would DIE FOR. It's a hearse!

Chicken Car. Chicken you would DIE FOR. It’s a hearse!

I decided to browse the bookstore before my appointment. I found this book on the shelves:

Fragment Warren Fahy

Although I checked the reviews from Amazon.com, which gave the book great reviews, the counter person said she had read the book and it was a good one.  

And… a magazine arrived in the post recently. I discovered that I had not received one of my Bicycling magazines in the mail. I contacted the magazine and my missing issue soon arrived.

Bicycling Magazine

Good issue. I enjoyed the articles… and pictures of bicycles.

Do you get spam in your email in box? An example is “Custom print your photo’s now at a special discount”. We decided to try one of these offers out. The total cost was $35 and change. We recently received the mounted portrait in the post.

Wood mounted Skull Image

The large and heavy photo was made from a print we purchased a few months ago. The quality was good too. Not a bad price for good artwork.

Since I read several blogs daily, the go to blog in the city is written by Paul Ryburn. His post today featured a link to an article about Cash Saver and the business of beer and growlers at the store. A good article since I learned a few things I didn’t know. Read the article here from the Memphis Chamber Blog. And a thank you to Taylor James for bringing very good beer to Midtown.

cash saver beer

Done. See YOU back here for more bikes, beers and books and skulls. Cheers.

 

