Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Weekend Memphis.

Friday night, we stopped by the Broad Avenue Fall Art Walk.

Broad Ave Arts District

I didn’t realize it at the time, but the theme for the evening turned out to be “heads”. It wasn’t until after I reviewed all of my photo’s that I discovered the theme. (See it for yourself.)

There are more shops and restaurants opening on Broad Avenue. Bounty (the restaurant) has opened on Broad.

Bounty Broad Avenue Memphis

The place looked busy as we walked by.

There is a new guitar shop (Memphis Guitar Spa) as well as a tattoo place (Inside Ronin Design and Manufacturing). This shop has an interesting interior to say the least; and I dig it.

tentacle

I found this bobble “head” in the shop as well.

pinhead bobble head

Pin “head”! Better yet, I also sighted the larger pin “head” just a few shops down.

Head art nails

We noticed the artist downtown at the River Arts Festival for the last two years.

At the new 20twelve shop, I spotted these animal heads.

rabbit head

deer head

I also ran across this old bicycle.

Old bicycle art

I liked the photo so much, I am currently using the photo for my background Facebook page.

Did I purchase anything? Sure did. I picked up some art.

Memphis Art

A local shop that sells cool shirts had these t-shirts mounted to frames.

timewarp drive in

“So… did the shirts NOT make the cut or what?” I was told the shirts were hung on hangers in the shop and this caused the shirt to fade along the shoulder area. Can’t sell the shirts with a faded line, so they mounted the shirts to frames. Easy art.

I also bought this print.

skull

I may create a negative image and then die the image onto a t-shirt.

The latest book I am reading?

Monkey reading "Rise of the Planet of the Apes".

Think and grow rich napoleon Hill

Think and Grow Rich” by Napoleon Hill. I do have to state the book is interesting, page one had my attention immediately.

I also purchased the CD “Conan“, the soundtrack from the original movie.

Conan Soundtrack

Poledouris is one of my favorite composers. I still cannot figure out why I waited so long to purchase the music from the film.

Mongol General: “Conan! What is best in life?”

Conan: “Crush your enemies. See them driven before you. Hear the lamentations of their women.”

If you are not listening to the podcast “Serial“, YOU ARE MISSING OUT! Download this podcast NOW. If you enjoy true murder mysteries, this show is for you. I listened to the first hour and I am hooked on the podcast. Who did it? The ex-boyfriend? There are witnesses who place the killer elsewhere. But other witnesses can’t remember details from so many years earlier. If your life depended on it, could you remember what you were doing three months ago? Who you spoke to? Can you recall the minute by minute details of your day? Most people cannot. Give “Serial” a try.

Done! Don’t go losing your head Memphis.

headless

See YOU back here for more bikes, heads and art. Cheers.

