Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

What. A. Week.

This work week has been CRAZY. I worked late Tuesday, Wednesday and will do so again Thursday. To top THAT off, I had to spend two hours on a conference call evaluating a new software application. “Can it do this? Can it do that? How does this work?” If new technology can make my job easier and the customers experience better, I am all for it.

So let me recap. Last Saturday I participated in Tour De Coop, sponsored by Grow Memphis.

CHICKEN CROSSED THE ROAD TOUR DE COOP 2014 MEMPHIS

The event was excellent. I had no idea how many people in Memphis were growing their own vegetables, raising chickens and building bee hives. The experience was awesome. As well was the SIX hour bicycle tour. The long ride was maybe 15 miles (easy for me), but lengthy in time. The ride began at 8:00 a.m. in the Wiseacre parking lot and ended at 2:00 p.m. at the Wiseacre brewery. I spoke to blog reader Frank for a short time before the ride. Patrick who lead the way was great at keeping us on track for the tour. The 14 tour participants in our group (there were two long ride groups) were clearly smart people who wanted to educate themselves about growing vegetables, raising chickens, ect. With the exception of one or two stops, I recorded video at each stop and took photos. Look for a full report of the tour in the coming days.

After that long ride, I spent the evening in Cooper Young having a bite to eat and a drink at Strano. The meat plate is AMAZING.

STRANO MEAT PLATE MEMPHIS COOPER YOUNG

I can’t say enough about this joint. They are always impressing me here. I asked the owner how many pizza’s were served during the Cooper Young Festival. “We cooked 700 pizza’s that day.” Holy hell! 700 pizza’s??? That is incredible.

Monday evening featured a meeting at Shelby Farms to discuss new entrances to the Greenline at several different places.

MEMPHIS GREENLINE ENTRANCES ACCESS MEETING

MEMPHIS GREENLINE NEW ENTRANCES

MEMPHIS GREENLINE NEW ENTRANCES APPLING

Shelby Farms Greenline wanted public input. The room was filled nicely at the beginning of the meeting. Several people I recognized from other meetings or those I have seen on the trail. Look, when you ask the public for their opinion on a subject, you get OPINIONS. My wife whispered to me, “Is it always like this?” Ummm…. yes. When you invite the public to meetings, you end up with a mixed bag. Sane and CRAZY. Some wanted lighted routes for exercising at night. (reasonable) Others wanted restrooms, water fountains and heated stops. (not any time soon) I will say the short meeting was informative. Good stuff coming to the Shelby Farms Greenline in the near future.

I did find this helmet at the corner of Avery and E. Parkway S.

LOST HELMET

How do you lose a helmet? The thing is supposed to be attached to your head. And the thing is STILL there to this day, hanging on a fence.

The other day, while biking to work, I noticed this small object near the sidewalk at Waring and the Greenline.

MEMPHIS TAP ROUTE

At first I thought it was a new Little Free Library. No. It is a public drinking fountain. Free to use for the public.

2014-09-24 11.40.29

I attempted to look up the website listed, but the website is still under construction. No information about this new concept. But I like the idea. Someone adds water near a ped / bike route and you grab water when you need it. Fantastic! I love it.

Oh yes. We had a bite to eat at Babalu the other day. The wait is no longer 30 minutes. The place was empty at 3:00 p.m. on a Sunday.

BABALU MEMPHIS

I ordered the Cuban sandwich

BABALU MEMPHIS CUBAN SANDWICH

and my wife ordered the burger

BABALU MEMPHIS BURGER MEMPHIS

with a side of sweet potato fries.

BABALU MEMPHIS FRIES

The fries were okay. My sandwich tasted good. The burger is not what you are expecting. Not in a bad way, but this burger is NOT an american burger you are thinking of. The flavor was different. The meal was fine. The service was good. Best food in the world? Not really. Okay? Yes.

The problem with riding a bicycle? You are going to get flat tires. As I was riding home last night (in the dark), I hit a bump pretty hard on Gardener Road, west of Shelby Farms. Nice. I pulled over and thought for a minute. I can call my wife to pick me up, or change the tube. I take out my tools and start to work. The mosquitos were larger than bats, I swear. I am sweating, shaking the mosquitos from my legs and arms and putting a new tube in. The process took me 30 minutes, but I did it. Instead of taking 1 hour, 15 minutes to get home, the ride took 1 hour 45 minutes. Fun. What did I learn? I need a headlamp to change tubes in the dark. Holding a flashlight in your mouth for 30 minutes is no fun. I also discovered I need a better, brighter headlight. I am biting the bullet and getting one of the brightest lights I can afford. The reviews are excellent and the order is in. I will see EVERYTHING at night with this light.

I also tried out my new ankle light for the first time. I LOVE this device. The strap works well around my foot, and the light is bright. I feel much more comfortable riding at night with this thing. I also added some spoke lights that appear very bright on my wheels. The more lights, the better. I want cars to see me at night.

Done. See YOU back here for more beer, bikes and chickens. Cheers.

