Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Midnight Classic Bike Ride. It went down. Last Saturday night.

What about last Friday? Friday was good, until the last two miles from home. Flat tire. That sucks. I could have changed out the tube, but I only had 18 minutes to walk the bike. Bah!

To make matters worse, I found THREE NAILS along the Greenline at the 40 / 240 intersection last week.  THREE NAILS at the construction site. Bah!

Back to the Midnight Classic Bike Ride. I worked morning to afternoon Saturday. Went home, took a nap for an hour, and then I began the process of getting things ready for the ride. Lights. Lots of lights. Water. Batteries. Lots of batteries.

At 10:30 p.m. I headed to the Liberty Bowl. Bicycles everywhere. Everywhere. And I am supposed to find a few people I know who are participating in the ride. So I ride around, in the crowd. Round and round. I did find a few people I was looking for. We chatted about the night for some time. Then it was nearly midnight. Time to ride.

I lined up near the back of the pack. (Count? The word I heard was 1000 people pre-registered and approx. 600 registered that night.) I planned to take the night easy. I even used my camera to video the entire ride. Since I have been on the ride three years in the past, I knew the route by memory. Easy ride west, then back east, then north. We cruised down Madison and Overton Square where people cheered us on. Then we headed north to North Parkway. By the time we reached Poplar, I decided to ride a bit faster. The bridge at Poplar and the viaduct was easy. At the University of Memphis, I picked up the pace.

A few small hills heading east along Central and then the ride was over. I finished in a little over an hour. Good ride with good people. There were big people, small riders, newbies, and pro’s. It didn’t matter if you were young or old, black or white. We all had our bikes and we all fit in.

Sunday. I slept in. Big time. The idea of replacing fluids at the end of the ride with alcohol is not the best idea.

As I walked outside Sunday, I found my SAME back tire flat AGAIN. I did ride a bit hard Saturday night and took some hits to the bicycle tires. Checking the tire today, the tube was punctured in a different place than the tube on Friday.

I had an idea I wanted to attempt for some time. Can I take an old tire, cut out the center strip of the tire (where the tire meets the road), fill the tire with an old tire tube, then place the whole thing in the new tire. Basically you get double the protection from punctures. I have also read that the tire would feel rather solid with less air in the tube. After I inserted the old tire into the new tire, I checked the pressure. The tire almost felt as though it was only a little low in air. And I had yet to put any air into the tube yet.

I pumped a small amount of air into the tire and that thing was SOLID. I put the tire back on the bike and gave it a try. I did notice a slight difference in the weight of the rear tire. Very minor though. I am anxious to see how the tire works on daily commutes. From what I have read on the internet, cyclists go a year without a flat by using this “double liner” in the tire.

I do have photos from the Midnight Classic Ride. But not enough time to download, edit and name the photos. Either I will add photo’s to this post, or add the photo’s to a new post.

See YOU back here for more beers, bikes and bicycle tire experiments.

 

