Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Manic Monday Memphis. Are you staying dry? Here comes the rain.

Last Saturday we tried out Elwoods Shack (4523 Summer Ave). The place is located next to the Lowes parking lot (RIGHT as you look at the front of Lowes).

elwoods

Do not let the decor fool you. This may be a hole in the wall place, but the food is good (and so are the portions). I ordered up the fish tacos

elwoods fish tacos

and my wife ordered the bbq sandwich.

elwoods bbq sandwich

Both dishes were good. The seating area is small inside, but there are picnic tables outside to sit on. Perfect for that fall weather coming up in a few months. Walk inside and order your meal to the left. Give them your name, and the staff will bring your order to your table.

I dusted the bicycle off this morning at 6:45 a.m. and headed to work. With a starting temperature of 80 degrees outside, I was in for one hot ride in the early hours. An older cyclist caught up to me a few miles into my ride. We spoke about the weather, and the cold front moving into Memphis. “How long does it take you to get to work?” he asked. “Me? One hour and 15 minutes.” This guy said he sees me daily at Shelby Farms, riding through. That would be correct.

Since the rain was supposed to start falling at 5:00 p.m., I had my wife pick me up from work. If I only had one extra hour, I could have made it home on the bicycle. We decided to stop in at Young Avenue Deli for dinner buttttt…. the power was out. Cafe Ole had power, but their juice was flickering off and on. Sweet Grass was also closed due to power issues. Weird. We had a go at Alchemy in Cooper Young. Yes, we have been here in the past. I always get the Grilled Cheese Sandwich and Tomato Soup.

grilled cheese and tomato soup alchemy memphis

My wife ordered up the sliders.

alchemy memphis sliders

Both dishes were good. What’s new at the joint? They have changed the menu into “Starters”, “To Share” and “Large Plates”. Which is a good idea. In the past you would order a few small plates and share those. My wife really enjoyed the burgers.

We watched as the weather turned worse in Cooper Young.

Cooper Young Storm

The wind took the large valet parking umbrella down the street. Valet dude chased the umbrella down Cooper. Once he had the umbrella in hand, the wind took him back the other way down Cooper. That’s some wind for ya.

After dinner I stopped in at Growler Memphis to see the beer list. Good things are on the board. Lots of Wiseacre and local brews. I must return and pick something up. I do believe you can now run tabs at the “beer store” (as I like to call it). Friendly and knowledgeable staff here, plus a good atmosphere to sit and have a beer.

Memphis Growler Store 2

Memphis Growler Store

Oh yes, I nearly forgot, liquor stores in Tennessee can now sell mixers and average beers. Wow! Tennessee is no longer living in the 1800’s. Here are a few items I purchased the other day:

Alcohol

The Tilted Palm Bloody Mary Mix is good. Spicy to boot. The Christmas Ale is good too. And then there is Fireball. Hold on tight if you are doing shots of the cinnamon stuff. All of the above was purchased at Busters on Highland. Wow. You mean I can buy mixers now in a liquor store? That is like buying eating utensils at a food store. They kind of go together.

Done. See YOU back here for more beers, bikes and food. Cheers.

