Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Weekend Memphis. And what a week it has been. No post Friday or Saturday due to exhaustion. And here is why…

Friday morning I woke up early for “Bike to Work Day” 2014.

Bike to work day 2014

“Wait… you bike to work every day.” Correct. So every day is a holiday. I make that bicycle ride downtown every year to demonstrate that YOU can ride your bicycle to work. I MEANT to start my ride downtown at 6:30 a.m. I actually started at 6:50 a.m. My 5 mile ride ended just west of Main St. at 7:25 a.m. That is where I picked up my goodie bag.

Bike to work goodie bag

A bag, water bottle and headphones. I ALWAYS need headphones. Like most people, my headphones are always broken, lost and never around when I need ’em. That sums up my headphone situation. I chatted with the crew at the station for a few minutes. Then I headed 5 miles back east to get to home. Stopped by my home in Cooper Young to pick up my lunch, then headed out again at 8:00 a.m. By 8:15 I was at the start of the Greenline. Here goes 11.2 more miles to work.

After a BUSY day at work, it was time for that 13.2 ride home. And this is where I questioned riding to work on Friday’s. I am already mentally tired, and now I am getting on the bicycle to ride MORE miles. Good ride home though. The last 4 miles I burned my legs out. When I made it home, I didn’t realize just how tired I was. I placed FOUR incorrect keys into the lock of the door, apparently confused as to which key was the right one. I was TIRED. Total miles Friday? 36.4.

This is exactly how I felt Friday evening.

Bicycle skeleton note cards

Actually that is a photo of my new note cards. I have used most of my old note cards up.

Bicycle note cards

To make matters worse, I had to go to work early the next morning. No, I was not waking up at 6:00 a.m. to ride to work. I could have but didn’t. My work day only lasted 5 hours, but these extra workdays take it out of me. Years ago I would work 12 hour work days for months and months on end without a day off. Not any more.

After work, I took a nap for one hour (I felt like toast) before heading out for dinner. Mexican food. Nothing to write home about. I did pick up a few beers at Busters though.

Beer

Brooklyn Black Chocolate Stout is a winner as well as the Schlafly Christmas Ale. I also picked up some Fireball.

fireball

Then I settled in to watch the movie “Old School”. You can always count on laughs from that movie.

Sunday and I need coffee, so I headed over to Coffee Town. While there I ran across some interesting articles online.

101 Masterpieces: ‘The Talented Mr. Ripley’
http://mentalfloss.com/article/56628/101-masterpieces-talented-mr-ripley

Just how authors get an idea for a book is quite interesting. Does the main character of the book hide inside the mind of the author? Truth is stranger than fiction.

Plans for the rest of the day? Grilling and chilling.

Steak on the grill

It’s gonna be a long week. See YOU back here for more bikes, beers and books. Cheers.

