Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Weekend Memphis. I am so glad the weekend is here. And beautiful weather to go along with it.

I woke early and headed to Republic Coffee. Hot coffee? Cold coffee? How about both? I couldn’t decide so I ordered hot and cold coffee. While I was sitting drinking coffee, I found THIS book from the Memphis Library:

The Great Pearl Heist” by Molly Caldwell Crosby.

London, 1913. An exquisite strand of pale pink pearls, worth more than the Hope Diamond, has been bought by a Hatton Garden broker, capturing the attention of both jewelers and thieves. In transit to London from Paris, the necklace vanishes without a trace.

Joseph Grizzard, “the King of Fences,” is the leader of a vast gang of thieves in London’s East End. Having risen from the deadly streets to become a wealthy family man, Grizzard still cannot resist the sport of crime, and the pearl necklace proves an irresistible challenge.

Inspector Alfred Ward has joined the brand-new division of the Metropolitan Police known as “detectives.” Having caught some of the great murderers of Victorian London, Ward is now charged with finding the missing pearls and the thief who stole them.

In the spirit of The Great Train Robbery, this is the true story of a psychological cat-and-mouse game. Thoroughly researched and compellingly colorful, The Great Pearl Heist is a gripping narrative account of this little-known, yet extraordinary crime.”

If this book is not a page turner I don’t know what is. I can’t wait to read this book.

After coffee, I dialed that number on speed dial; Central BBQ. “Wings to go please!”. I rolled on over to Central BBQ on Central. Line? What line? I skipped the line and walked up to the cash register. “Wings please.”

central bbq wings

I paid for my wings and I was out of the door in a matter of minutes. Very simple.

After I ate the wings, I prepared my hamburger meat for later. Time to head to Overton Park for the grand opening of the Overton Park Bicycle Arch.

Bicycle Arch Memphis

Several people stood up and gave speeches. During the grand opening a motorist attempted to make a right turn from E. Parkway South and drive under the arch. Wrong turn. It is a BICYCLE arch, not a CAR arch. You can’t make this stuff up. (you can watch the grand opening by following this link to YouTube on Sunday 4/20/2014; the video size is large and it is taking a few hours to upload) After the grand opening, I took a spin around Overton Park.

On my way home from the park, I stopped in at CVS for some charcoal.

Charcoal bicycle

A few miles later, it was time to grill my burgers on the grill. I also used my new chimney starter.

chimney starter

15 minutes later and the coals were ready. Simple.

Another Saturday complete with burgers, bikes and books. See YOU back here soon Memphis. Cheers.

