Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

And the weekend continues Memphis.

Saturday afternoon we headed downtown to Court Square for Mudbugs in March.

Mudbugs in March 2014

$20 later, I had my basket of crawfish.

mudbugs in march 2013 memphis

Plus potatoes and sausage. The mudbugs were okay. Nice weather as well, as long as you stood in the sunshine. Live music, food and beer. Perfect day downtown. After the crawfish fest, we walked around downtown. I noticed the Kress building. The façade reminds me of buildings in the Czech Republic.

Kress Building Memphis

Continuing down Main Street, I noticed this:

Bicycle Memphis

Very cool. If one goes missing, it was me.

I have been wanting to check out Tamp and Tap (coffee AND beer) for a long time. Now was my chance.

Tamp and Tap Memphis

A few notes about the joint. There is coffee available and beer. Beer is on tap OR by the bottle. Check out the beer cooler up front.

Tamp and Tap Beer Cooler

The coffee set up is daunting. Is that a chemistry set? It looks like one, but for coffee. I was confused. It took me several minutes to take things in. I settled for a coffee and strawberry cake.

Strawberry Cake Tamp and Tap

The coffee was okay, the cake good. The shop looked like a coffee-house, but that could change as day turns into evening. Most people were sitting down with coffee. There are games to play. There is a nice couch with a large television. Best bet is you get a choice. Grind or unwind.

Tamp and Tap Grind Unwind

I really enjoy the concept. Coffee or beer or both. Tamp and Tap is located between Front Street and Main Street off of Gayoso Ave. (122 Gayoso Ave).

After a fun day downtown it was time for a silent art auction at the Memphis College of Art. $35 for two tickets and we were in.

Silent art auction

Wine and beer were offered as well as cheese and fruit. So what was offered for the auction? If you like to eat, many local restaurants offered gift cards. Otherlands, Starbucks, Sweetgrass, and Central BBQ to name a few. Yes, there was art as well.

Elvis Superman 2

Two patrons battled for the work pictured above. I think the final sale was around $250. Memphis Made Brewery offered a “Brewmaster for a Day” auction item.

Memphis Made Brewmaster for a Day

I think the brewmaster auction item went for $75. Over all the event was good. I won a large piece of petrified wood. I had to battle for that item.

Sunday is movie day. We headed over to Studio on the Square for the film “Tim’s Vermeer“. Penn and Teller made this movie. GREAT documentary. The secret is out. I have always wondered how the Dutch masters painted those incredible paintings. While in Amsterdam I would get as close to the paintings as possible, trying to discover just how they made the paintings look like photo’s. In the film, Tim learned the secret by painting a Vermeer. The secret is amazingly simple but genius. I must attempt it! But not a Vermeer.

Remember, the Overton Square Crawfish Festival is happening soon.

overton square crawfish festival 2013

Mark your calendars, Saturday April 12th, 12-6 p.m. Music, mudbugs and people. Lots of people.

overton square crawfish 2013

Done. I will see YOU back here for more beers, mudbugs and Vermeers. Cheers.

 

