Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Weekend Midtown. I survived the work week, but only by the skin of my teeth.

Between working late, difficult customers, and a heating issue, my work week ended poorly. Heating issue? Try 92 degrees in the office when I walked into work.

92 temperature

Holy hell! Let the sweating begin. I wanted to move my desk into the refrigerator. The temperature outside was 62 degrees. Just another day in paradise. After complaining about the heat, I worked on a different problem. This included waiting on hold with a Georgia state agency for 30 minutes.

On Hold

The date and time are not correct, but that 29:05 hold time is correct. Does the day get any better? No. Time to end this work week.

My Friday ended at Casablanca. This was my first visit to the joint. Nice place.

Casablanca Memphis

When we first arrived, there were few people seated at tables. When we left the place, every table was filled. I ordered the beef and lamb shawerma.

Casablanca Beef Pita

My wife ordered the chicken shawerma.

Casablanca Chicken Pita

Both dishes were good. We also ordered the grape leaves stuffed with rice. I liked this as well. Overall dinner was good as well as the service. And try the tea. That was tasty. I would be willing to return to Casablanca Memphis.

Get ready for the block party this summer. Overton Square will host a party every Thursday evening from 6-11 p.m. April 17-August 28. Admission will vary $5-$15. Live entertainment plus beer and wine for sale. The event takes place in the Tower Courtyard near the parking garage. Read more about Thursdays Squared here from Choose901.

High Cotton Brewery is breaking ground on the new tap-room. Can’t wait for that bicycle ride. Read more about it from Memphis Business Journal here.

To tell you the truth, there is so much beer news in Memphis it is difficult to keep up with all of the events, brews, beers, ect. I do my best, but the task is becoming daunting here in Memphis. Which may not be a bad thing.

Speaking of beer… Friday night I stopped in at Busters and decided on a “I survived the work week” beer.

maudite

“Maudite” by Unibrue is a winner in my book. Love it.

This morning I took the bicycle to Republic Coffee. The ride was cold, but it was nice to get out on the bicycle. Coffee Town was packed solid. I sat at the bar and read the news and listened to tunes. Come on warmer weather.

Next stop was Central BBQ. I usually go for the wings, but today I decided on something different.

Central BBQ Nachos

That is correct, bbq nachos. Central BBQ has the best in town. I placed my to go order and made my way to Central BBQ. A few minutes later I was at the restaurant and skipped that line. I paid for my nachos and placed the bbq in my bike basket. Way to easy. If you are eating at the Central location; call ahead! Get your order to go and sit on the patio to eat. No need to wait in that big long line.

Plans for today? Mudbugs in March downtown in Court Square.

mudbugs in march 2013 memphis

Get yourself some crawfish. Read more about the event here.

We are also attending an art show later in the evening. I love the Memphis art. If the price is right, that painting may be hanging on my wall.

i love memphis art

It is already midday and I have yet to read a book or play a video game. See YOU back here for more crawfish, art and beers. Cheers.

Read more items in my Flipboard Magazine here and here.

 

