Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Waffle Wednesday Memphis. Get some.

This morning I was almost shocked about the temperature outside. Just before I left, I checked the current temperature. 64 DEGREES? Wow. Not gonna need riding pants today, or gloves. I’m riding in my shorts! Awesome. I did take a light jacket for the ride, just in case.

You may have to subtract a few points from me because I drove to the head of the Greenline and started my ride from there. Sometimes I do not want to be bothered by the extra two miles with heavy morning traffic to get to the Greenline by bicycle.

No matter, the morning ride was fine.

memphis greenline

I did run into another daily bicycle commuter this morning; Louie. He looked surprised to see me. I was surprised to see him riding so early in the morning. I made good time in the early hours and as I reached Shelby Farms, I noticed a cyclist speed by me. He must be new, I haven’t noticed him in the past. (As I left work at 5:00 p.m., the same cyclist sped past me again. Dude, you’re making me look bad.)

The ride home tonight was pretty good. My time was perfect to the minute. Which again is something I will have to work on. “Go slow”. And if you are out at night, PLEASE use some lights if you are walking, jogging, or cycling. We cannot see you in the dark. I keep lights on the back, front, the wheels and the frame of my bicycle.

The Hampline Project is starting to get underway very shortly. Read more about the project from BikePedMemphis. This bike path will go right by Wiseacre Brewery. Oink.

Me? I’m beat. Those miles take it out of you. I figure I am burning 550 calories in the morning and 550 calories in the evening. Done. See YOU back here for more bikes, beers and the Hampline. Cheers.

