Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Two for Tuesday Midtown.

If you are in your 40’s, you will probably know what I am talking about. If you are younger, you may not. I spent Sunday evening placing a clamp on my bicycle. I had to push and lift my bicycle rack to get the clamp to line up just right while I threaded a nut and bolt. This took several minutes, more time than necessary really. When I awoke the next morning, my lower right back felt terrible. “No problem, I will just ride my bicycle 13.2 miles to work.” Famous last words. (If it is painful for you to put your socks and shoes on, take that as a hint) I made it all of “1” mile and my body felt appalling. This is NOT going to work. I turned around and headed home. And I was very disappointed. I was surely looking ahead to the bicycle ride to work. To make matters worse, later in the day, the pain took a northward route to my upper left shoulder. “It’s all connected.” Yeah, my back gets it. I am laying off exercising for a few days to let my back heal. When your back goes out, count the rest of your body out as well.

The Growler Memphis has a nice write-up from Memphis Magazine. There are TWO very good items pointed out in this article. With so many beers on tap, ASK QUESTIONS. If you are unsure about a beer, ask for a taste of one before you order it. The staff is very knowledgeable about the beers on tap. I drink many different kinds of beers, but I don’t know them all. The staff get questions about beer all of the time. So ask away. Secondly, I really enjoy the statement, “The bar’s simplicity… make it feel like a neighborhood coffee-house for beer drinkers.” Very, very true. I sip my beer, read the news, and listen to music. Pretty much like I do at the coffee shop, but at The Growler Memphis its beer I’m drinking. Kick back, drink a flight ($6 for four samplers) and enjoy.

I found this informative article via Twitter today (thanks Memphis Filling Station). “Fix The Beer Tax“. Why is Tennessee paying the highest beer tax rate in country? Time to fix the problem. Really, check out the website and learn how you can get things fixed in Tennessee.

Last night I discovered this very cool device at Amazon.com. If you cook outside with charcoal on a grill like I do,

Steak on the grill

this item is for you. The Weber Rapidfire Chimney Starter.

To get started when grilling with charcoal, you have to make a pile of coals, heap of large amount of lighter fluid on said coals, and pray to the bbq gods that your coals get hot. The Weber Chimney Starter takes all of the work out of this process. Reviews for the Rapidfire are GREAT. Everyone who has purchased one seems to swear by it, so yes, I am ordering one for myself. $15 + shipping? That is a steal. Can’t wait to try the Rapidfire out. Come on warm weather!

Done. See you back here for aches and pains, beers and bbq. Cheers.

