Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Weekend Midtown. And what a weekend it was.

I started the day Saturday by taking a bicycle ride to Republic Coffee. Yeah, it was 37 degrees outside. That is why I used my gloves and balaclava. My new merino wool socks worked out great too. The ride wasn’t bad, as long as I was in the sun and the wind didn’t blow. The funniest part about the ride was the gym Power Life Fitness located at 2858 Poplar Avenue (Poplar and Humes). The parking lot was packed! New years resolutions I guess would be the answer.

I had some coffee and read the news, then it was time to head to Kroger on Union. My shopping list was ready and so was I. Not sure how to get to the place, I remembered the bike lanes on McLean. Oh yeah, those would be good to use. I like the bike lanes on Madison and McLean. After I shopped at Kroger, I loaded all of the food into my bike baskets.

bicycle baskets grocery store

Twenty dollars worth of food including eggs, a large box of oatmeal and a big container of juice. I didn’t notice much of a difference on the ride home with all of that food. The weight was a bit more overall, but the ride remained pretty much the same. Yes, YOU can ride your bicycle to the grocery store. Pretty easy to do and you get to exercise at the same time.

After dropping the groceries off at home it was time for some beer at the Grower Memphis. I jumped on the bicycle and headed to Cooper. Once I arrived it was decision time. What to get. What to get. I really enjoy trying a flight of beers ($6) since I can try four different kinds of beer. I went with Yazoo Hefe (fantastic!), Memphis Made Lights Out [In London], Blackstone Oatmeal Stout, and Memphis Made Humbucker IPA.

Growler Memphis

The first two I have tried in the past. Good choice. The last two were new for me. The Humbucker by Memphis Made was very good. Lots of flavor. A bit hoppy, but the taste was “high” above the other flavors. The store owner said it was the choice of hops that gave the beer that unique flavor. A citrus taste almost. Lastly, the Blackstone Oatmeal Stout is DELICIOUS! Dark, thick and very smooth. You really need to try Blackstone Oatmeal Stout. If you have questions, please ask the bar staff about the beers offered. They can tell you how each of the beers taste.

How do you keep track of all those beers you drink? Untappd is a great app/website that tracks your beers and your thoughts on each beer. Better yet, get social with Untappd to taunt your friends while having a cold one. You can look me up using Untappd under “Ty, Kilmistr, Memphis.

skull helmet

While sitting at a table sipping on my beers, the joint was rocked by a Led Zep album. Talk about a perfect day. Bikes, beers, and Led Zep. Life in Memphis cannot get much better.

I have discussed my new purchase of Roku 3 in the past.

I cannot say enough good things about this media device. I discovered a few new items that make Roku 3 fantastic. There is a free app called RMote Roku. Get it. You can control your Roku from your tablet. Awesome. And yes, there is a stupid amount of items to watch using your Roku. You can even control the Youtube channel on Roku with your tablet (although I have no idea how this works!).

Remember, the Indie Film “Escape From Tomorrow” is featured this week at the Brooks Museum. Yeah, I want to get creeped out at Disney Land. 1/9/14 at 7:00 p.m.

Dress warm Memphis. The ice storm is nearly upon us. Stay safe and warm and I will see YOU back here for more bikes, beers and Led Zep. Cheers.

