Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

Manic Monday Midtown. One work day down, four to go.

I found a few interesting things today. “My life with a treadmill desk.” What? If you sit at a desk all day; you SIT at a desk ALL DAY. I read a different article that stated, “The human body is not designed to sit for eight hours a day.” True. I have been at desks for years pushing paper, or pushing keys on a keyboard. Better get your exercise in BEFORE work or AFTER work. (And AFTER work is way tougher than BEFORE work.) But what if you could exercise WHILE you work. And the idea of a “Treadmill Desk” was born.

I read about one study in which desks were replaced with treadmills for several months. After the study was complete, the researchers began to remove the treadmills. The office staff had changed their daily habits so much, the staff pleaded with the researchers to KEEP the treadmills in their office. And I do not think this is out of the ordinary. You can exercise and work at the same time. It is possible. I do my best to get up and walk about as much as possible while at work. And it is much easier to install a treadmill desk if you work out of your home. Don’t believe me? Read the article for yourself from cnet.com.

I finished the book “Two Graves” by Douglas Preston and Lincoln Child. I enjoyed the first half, and the end. For some reason it was a bit tough to get through in the later half of the book. BUT, there is a new book by the same authors coming out soon; White Fire.

I have started on a preview of the new book and IT IS GREAT! I can’t wait for the book to come out. YOU can read the first 9 chapters for FREE from Amazon.com.

Lastly, I found this car Friday night at the Broad Avenue Fall Art Walk. Yeah, I am a horror film fan; to a point. I wouldn’t go as far as putting this on the back window of my car.

myers car

I can already hear the theme music now. (Which Carpenter wrote by the way.)

Done. Stay warm Memphis. I looks like it will be very cold tomorrow. See YOU back here for more books, beers and Michael Myers. Cheers.

