Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Sunday Midtown. I LOVE my weekends.

Last night we went to Studio on the Square to see the film Ender’s Game. I have read the book many, many years ago. I liked the book back then. So my thoughts on the film Ender’s Game? The book is always better than the movie. The book tells the story over several years time. The film condenses the book into a year. This is a big setback for the film. The movie feels like it is just hitting the highlights of the book. Done properly, the film would have been made into at least two movies if not three. The book is always better than the movie. The Battle School sequences were rushed. (I had read that for the first 45 minutes of the movie I would be on the edge of my seat. I was not.) The whole point of the school events was to show how Ender could out think his opponent in various situations. The book is always better than the movie. The role of Bean was downsized greatly. And I didn’t buy into the scenes between Ender and his sister. They just didn’t connect on-screen. The entire movie came off as “Let’s hurry through this to get to the end.” The book is always better than the movie.

Some parts of the film that I liked was the scene in which Ender took two guns and spun around in zero gravity to defeat his enemies. Even in space, guns are cool. Especially two at a time. The tablet game Ender played as a mouse was good too. Although the “tablet game” was far to short in the film.

My favorite parts of the book were the Battle School and the tablet game, both of which were cut down in the film because of time restraints. (Which is why the film would have been much better split into two or three films.) Go see the film and you be the judge. (Hint: The book is always better than the movie.)

This morning I woke to find a message in my email box. I have won a free phone armband from a cycling website. I have to review said armband, but still, winning is cool.

After breakfast we decided to jog to Republic Coffee, which is about two miles away. I of course didn’t warm up, and after ten minutes my knee began to hurt. That is what I get for not warming up. It’s tough to get old(er).

Remember there is an art show this Tuesday at the Memphis Botanic Garden from 5:30 – 8:00 (see the calendar below).

maggie and judy

Judy, above left, will be one of the artists at the show (my wife to the right).

And there is the Broad Avenue Fall Art Walk this Friday from 5-10 p.m.

broad ave art walk 2013

If you haven’t attended before, you should go.

Broad Ave Arts District

We attend the event every year and love it. There is so much art, music and people.

broad ave butt

(If you are wondering about the butt up top, it is something I purchased at the event several years ago.) I haven’t heard anything from Wiseacre about their attendance in the festival, but their participation would be an awesome way to end the event.

Done. I will see YOU back here for more art, movies and beer. Cheers.

