Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Weekend Midtown. Let the fun begin.

Last night we watched the movie World War Z. Good movie. Better than I thought the film would be. My wife said the movie was nothing like the book. (I didn’t read the book, nor is said book on my reading list.)

Today I made my usual stops; Republic Coffee in the morning for some “go go” juice.

My next stop was Central BBQ. That long line out the door on Central? No, I wasn’t in that line. See I skip that line by calling my order in BEFORE I get there. Easy. I ride my bicycle over to the joint, lock up my bicycle outside, and walk right past that long line. Here is the kicker. My total for a half order of wings was $6.07. But… I only paid $1.07 for my wings. Sorry, I’m not telling my secret for the discount. Those wings were good!

central bbq beer

Next stop? You got it; Wiseacre Brewery.

wiseacre taproom

wiseacre prices

This time I rode north on E. Parkway South (notice the only compass point I left out was “west”?) to Sam Cooper. I haven’t tried that before and I will not likely do so again. That mile or so ride is just not good. But once I reached Broad Street, everything was fine. I was surprised how many people were at the Wiseacre Brewery. I ordered a Tiny Bomb and stood at the bar with my FRESH, LOCALLY MADE beer. Good stuff. Can’t wait for the wheat beer. Remember, Wiseacre DOES NOT ACCEPT CASH. Debit and credit card only.

They spin vinyl at Wiseacre while you have a cold one. Playing today? The Doors. Great beer and a great atmosphere at Wiseacre.

wiseacre tiny bomb

Funny, I was checking my Twitter account at the bar and discovered an article about the new Growler shop in Cooper Young (Thanks to Cooper Young Beer Fest!) in the Lamp Lighter. Two words; “I’m” “Excited”. Can’t wait for the shop to open up.

There were a few cyclists at the brewery when I arrived. Bike rack Wiseacre? Yes the cyclists have discovered Wiseacre. I left the brewery by taking Collins south to Poplar, slight jog west, then south on Hollywood (really it is North / South Alicia Dr.), then west on Avery Ave., then south on East Parkway South. This was a much better route than taking E. Parkway South all of the way south.

Oh yeah, I was wearing my “Bikes & Beer & BBQ & Memphis” t-shirt today.

bikes beer bbq memphis 1

I pretty much checked all of those off of the list today. As I was riding home, I was thinking to myself; “This was an excellent day.”

Till next time Memphis, get out and live loud. Cheers!

