Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Manic Monday Midtown. Time to get the work week started. 58 degrees this morning! Wow!

Yes I took my bicycle to work as usual, but I decided to change things up a bit. Lately I have been having a problem with music. First, I have too much music (yes, I am addicted to classic rock music from the 70’s and 80’s). Secondly, my Ipad and Itouch devices (I have two) do not have enough memory for all of that music. What to do? Upgrade to more memory? First, that would cost money. Secondly, that would be too easy. I made the decision to use one Itouch for apps, and one Itouch device for only music. Now I have the best of both worlds.

To celebrate, I added a new playlist to the “music” device. The new playlist is titled “Thursday”. (I name my playlists after days of the week.) My former favorite playlist was titled “Tuesday”. The “Thursday” playlist does a great job of getting my legs moving in the morning. The tunes are by artists such as Metallica, Wolfmother, W.A.S.P., ZZ Top, Malmsteen, Accept, Sabbath, The Cult, Purple, and Diamond Head. Let the rockin’ begin.

Speaking of music, I received a new CD in the post today:

rainbow straight between the eyes

Rainbow, “Straight Between the Eyes”. If you grew up in the 80’s, you remember these tunes. The song “Stone Cold” is STILL played on classic rock stations. The better song? “Death Alley Driver”. Better video as well. This was Ritchie Blackmore at his darkest, meanest, dirtiest. When the tour came to town, I had to make a choice. Scorpions and Maiden were playing days prior to the Rainbow show. It was either Scorpions or Rainbow. I went for Scorpions. Not that I regret the decision, but back then as a kid, $12 was a ton of money for a concert ticket. (You can’t get a beer and hot dog for $12 at a concert today.) In minutes that Rainbow CD will be burned into my Itouch, ready for the ride tomorrow.

Push ups. Yes, push ups. I have started doing push ups. I did 52 push ups today. I may die. Okay, it is not that bad. But it isn’t easy. Because I added sit ups to the mix as well. 75 sit ups to be exact. In the late 90’s I would bike to work and back (45 minutes each way), get home and hit the weights for one hour, AND do 1000 sit ups. (After the first hundred your abdomen is pretty much numb and you don’t feel like throwing up anymore.) I did this six days a week. Friends told me I didn’t have an ounce of fat on my body. It is not as though I need to lose weight these days, more like add some muscle to my upper body. Wish me luck on the strength training.

Memphis Threat has a new t-shirt available. LOVE the new “901” shirt. I must have that shirt. I also like the “Fiend Club” shirt as well.

Remember, the Kirby Parkway Public Meeting takes place at the Agricenter tomorrow at 5:00 p.m. Let public official know what you think about them putting a highway through Shelby Farms.

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA

After the meeting, I will post my thoughts and photos. Till then Midtown, get out!

