Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Waffle Wednesday people. Get some.

Yes, I took my bicycle to work this morning. And… I was stopped by a train on the way to the coffee shop.

Trains, you block my path!

Trains, you block my path!

I noticed another cyclist waiting, but he gave up waiting and circled around to Central, then back north to Humes. By the time the train had finally passed, I saw him on the other side of the tracks. #DidntSaveMuchTime

At Republic Coffee I had my iced coffee and read the news. Then it was time to head east using the Memphis Greenline. To easy. While riding this morning, I listened to articles “read to me by real people”. At least that is what the Umano app advertises. For the most part I enjoy Umano. Yes, you can choose which stories you want to download and listen to. There is a Tech section, Science section, Entertainment Section, History Section and Poplar Section. The setup is very easy. I usually listen to Umano for about one hour a week. Am I so lazy I must have the news “read” to me by someone else? Not really. I read the news daily, listening to Umano is just something to distract me while riding to work for an hour.

Need something to do Friday? How about a beer tasting at Cash Saver. From Fuzzy Brew:

“On Friday, there will be a tasting of Stone Brewing Co. beers from 5 to 7 p.m. at the Cash Saver on Madison. Stone rep Brett Collier will be there pouring samples of Pale Ale, Levitation Ale and Smoked Porter. Jim O’Brien from Crazy Good Specialty Foods will also be there to sample out their new Raging Pineapple Salsa.”

Two words; TWIST MY ARM. Hmmm… going to have to race home on the bicycle to make it to Cash Saver on Friday. How about another two BETTER words; “Stone and Raging Pineapple Salsa”. (Okay that is five words, but who is counting.) Pineapple Salsa sounds excellent.

More to do Friday night? How about the film “Animal House” showing at the Orpheum Theatre. The show starts at 7:00 p.m. and tickets cost $7.

“Nothing is over until we decide it is! Was it over when the Germans bombed Pearl Harbor? Hell no!”

Ah… I love that movie.

“Fat, drunk and stupid is no way to go through life, son.”

And then there is the Cooper Young Festival this weekend. I’m in, are you?

Cooper Young Festival

If you want to people watch, get there at noon. PLENTY of people to watch.

Done. Well almost. I am STILL doing laundry at 10:00 p.m. Time to fill that messenger bag full of clean clothes to take to work. Till next time, cheers!

