Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

Weekend Midtown. Get out!

I really got out Saturday on the bicycle. First stop? Republic Coffee. Got to get me some caffeine.

At 11:30 I headed east along the Greenline to Central BBQ. Time for wings and a beer.

central bbq beer

Oink. Love me the wings and beer on Saturdays. After I finished my meal, I had to decide what to do next. Wait. How about the new brewery Wiseacre (2783 Broad Avenue)? The brewery opened at 1:00 p.m.

The ride was easy enough, take Poplar down to Hollywood, then turn north up Hollywood. This puts you right at the west end of Broad St. After that it’s just a few blocks east, over the tracks, to Wiseacre. The place is so new, the parking lot has yet to be paved. Bike rack? Not yet. (although I asked). Walking in I noticed the joint was nice.

wiseacre taproom

Good tables, a large bar and lots of merch to purchase. (I asked about the growler fills. Wiseacre only takes “Wiseacre” growlers, no others, to fill.)

Let’s get down to business. I am here for Wiseacre beer. Oink. Good stuff. I started with the Tiny Bomb. Good stuff. The beer is a bit hoppy for me, but still good. I did not try the Ananda beer. I figured this would give me an excuse to go back. Wiseacre is CREDIT CARD ONLY. NO CASH. Which is okay. Even cooler was the credit card machine. You sign your name electronically and can add your email address to send yourself a receipt. Read more about what is offered from the brewery below:

wiseacre prices

From the Facebook page:

“Tap Room open Thu & Fri 4-8, Sat 1-8. Still no tours or growlers yet.”

I can wait… a little.

While out and about, I wore my Choose 901 shirt.

choose 901 shirt

I received many positive compliments about the shirt while riding round town. Yeah, I will be wearing more shirts around town in the future. I only purchased three shirts.

More beer? High Cotton Brewery is starting to produce an Oktoberfest beer. Double oink. If High Cotton makes Oktoberfest as good as the Seasonal, the beer should be out of this world.

My plans for the work week? Work late, go to see The Killer Dwarfs 9/10/13 at the Rock House (5709 Raleigh Lagrange Road Memphis, TN 38134). I love the 80’s rock.

Yes, I am ready for the work week. Are you? Come back for more bikes, beers, and bbq. Cheers.

