Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

Manic Monday Midtown. What… a… day.

A few items to post today.

The Zoo Brew is fast upon us. Friday August 30th 7-10 p.m. $40 for non-members. Here are some suggestions if you are attending the event. GET THERE EARLY. There are no lines at the beer booths when the gates open. Head to the high gravity (high alcohol content) beer booths first. Good event? Yes. Try it out.

My wife stopped in at La Michoacana on Summer for some ice cream. The shop has some new popsicles.

la michoacana

Sweet tasting with strawberries and pineapple. Delicious! Love the La Michoacana. If you have never been by, try it!

Riding home this evening all went fine; until I reached Walnut Grove Rd. When I crossed over the street, I noticed something amiss. FLAT TIRE (no, not the beer.) I only had two miles left to ride. I could fix the tire, or walk the bike home. After riding 11.2 miles, I wasn’t in the mood to fix the tire. What really bothered me the most was the fact that several other cyclists passed me by without bothering to ask if I needed help. I see these guys daily. Yes I had all the tools and tube to fix the tire. That is not the point. I was bummed that these guys didn’t bother to check on me. When I see someone on the side of the road or Greenline I always ask if they need help. Here is where things get cool. I was a mile from home, walking on the side of the street with my bicycle when I noticed a motorcyclist pull up next to me. He said he saw me looking at my bicycle on the side of the street and wondered if I needed air for the tire. He brought an air pump for me to use. He said he even had to spend some time looking for me after I walked further down the street. I said thanks, but no thanks. Good guy.

I arrived home and fixed the tire. I am getting faster at fixing those flat tires. Give me 20 minutes or so to fix the problem. I found two small holes in the tire and two small holes in the tube. It appears I ran over some type of metal staple at some point. 😦

My day could have been better, and could have been worse. No worries, it all washes out at the end of the day.

See YOU back here for more beers, bikes and good people. Cheers.

