Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

Weekend Midtown.

I wish I could say Saturday was excellent. I worked all day Saturday. And it was a tough work day. I started at 7:00 a.m. and finished work at 5:00 p.m. I earned EVERY SINGLE NICKLE. Usually I am off during the weekend. But this entire day was just a drain. By the time I arrived home, it was time for a drink or three.

Sunday started out with a visit to Republic Coffee for some iced coffee. I read the news and checked out various web sites.

Next stop? La Michoacana on Summer Ave. Time for a chamoy pop.

la michocana chamoy popsicle

Nothing but love. Some thought that the picture above was a smoothie. No. There is just a ton of chamoy on top of the popsicle. Two words… Awe-Some. You can also get nachos at the joint as well.

la michocana nachos

Not great, but good. Nachos at an ice cream shop? Yes. Visit the place (4109 Summer Avenue). The store is usually packed on weekends. One visit and you will know why.

Books? I am currently reading “The Eye of God” by James Rollins.

The book is very good. And better yet, I downloaded the book from the Memphis Library for FREE! Almost every book I download from the library I would have purchased. Thank you Memphis Public Library!

And… I purchased a camera for the Raspberry Pi.

raspberry pi laptop

Sort of plug and play concept. You plug the camera into the Pi (small micro computer) itself, and then program the device as a motion sensor camera. Better yet, the device can push pictures to the internet (text, email, ect).

The Midnight Classic Bike Ride is coming up within a week. (Saturday night).

Midnight classic bike tour 2013

Register and go on the ride! I can’t say enough great things about this ride. The streets are blocked off, and many awesome people surround you as you bike on the streets of Memphis at night. I usually ride slower to enjoy the ride. And there is beer at the end! Yeah beer.

Midnight Classic Bike Ride 2012 Fat Tire

Lastly… here is a blast from the past. The DISTANT past. I believe the picture was taken in 1986 (due to the concert shirt I am wearing.) A photo of my wife and I in high school! We didn’t date in school, but were friends. The photo was sent to us today.

1986

I was dangerous. She was beautiful. (Sounds like the plot to most 80’s movies). You can see a recent photo of us below.

ty wedding

27 years later… wow. I am still dangerous, and she is still beautiful.

Done. I need to work on my bicycle by adding some light for the Midnight Classic Bike Tour. See YOU back here for more bikes, beers and the 80’s. Cheers.

