Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Weekend Midtown. Get out!

I started the day at Republic Coffee. Wait. Let me start again. My day began at 4:45 a.m. by taking my wife to the airport. Who schedules flights at 6:00 a.m. in the morning? Went back home and fell back to sleep. THEN… I woke up again and went to Republic Coffee. Next stop? Gibson’s Donuts.

Heaven

Heaven

Oh… yeah… Half dozen rings of heaven, and I was done. Love ’em.

Next stop? Central BBQ on Summer (I can’t get into Central BBQ on Central!) Got me some wings!

central bbq wings beer

Oink! Love me the wings.

Next stop? Cash Saver on Madison. Picking me up some beers.

six pack beer

six pack beer 2

About half of the beers I have tried in the past. The other half are new to me. I was able to chat with Taylor James at the store for a short time. If you need help choosing beers, T.J. is the guy to go to at Cash Saver (and you WILL need help choosing beers. There is a CRAZY amount of beer to choose from). All of the above beers I purchased using the “build your own” six pack. Just grab an empty six pack holder and fill it up.

build your own cash saver

For those of you playing at home, here is the beer list:

Magic Hat, M.H. Elder Betty, M.H. Circus Boy, Scrimshaw, Fischer Amber (haven’t tried F.A. before), 1554, Ciderboys (new cider for me), Brooklyn Summer Ale, Blanche De Bruxelles, Short Straw Red Ale (new for me), Ommegang Witte (new for me), Wood Chuck Pink, and Ayinger Bruuweisse (new for me).

I also picked up the movie “Bourne Legacy”. I’m set up pretty good for the evening.

Many good events are around the corner. Starting tomorrow (Sunday 7-14-2013) the Brooks Museum will feature the film “Sightseers” at 2:00 p.m. $8 for tickets. The film is a dark comedy. Should be interesting to say the least.

Next, Central BBQ will sample High Cotton Beer at Central BBQ Sunday 7/14/2013 at 5:00 p.m. Enjoy your bbq and have some High Cotton beer.

scottish ale young avenue deli

“Sunday 7/14 sample @HighCottonBeer while listening to live music by #MightySoulsBrassBand at our midtown location. 2249 Central. 5pm.”

There you go. Great food, good music, and great beer. Really, the High Cotton beer is awesome.

Tuesday 7/16/2013 at 6:00 p.m., there will be a meeting at Shelby Farms Visitors Center to discuss the Greenline crossing over Germantown Parkway and extending to Cordova. Read more about the meeting here. Count me in.

Can’t run a 5K? Want to wear a costume and drink beer while running? Check out the event downtown 10-5-2013 at 2:00 p.m. “Tap-n-Run”. Yes, you get to run a 4K AND drink beer at the same time. Sounds like a fun time. Read more about Tap-n-Run here.

Bored in Memphis? Not likely. Movies, beers and bbq. What more do you want? Love it! See YOU back here for more beers, bikes and Memphis. Cheers.

