Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Thirsty Thursday Midtown. Get some.

You have good days and then you have bad days. Today began with the good, moved to the bad and ended with a good day.

I left work early today to have dinner downtown with an old friend from Texas. As usual I take the Greenline home. The temperature outside was HOT. I was drinking water at regular intervals. Near the Podesta intersection (240 and Sam Cooper), I stopped on the right side of the Greenline to drink some water. I am parked on the FAR right side of the Greenline. I am drinking my water as a cyclist sped by me and shouted “Don’t stop in the bike lane!”. What? I am drinking water, on the far side of the path. The time is 4:20 p.m. Because of the temperature and time, there are few people out using the Greenline. Your yelling at me because I stopped to drink water? Are you kidding me? I am not in your way. People stop all the time along the Greenline. This is probably the first time I’ve had ANYONE yell at me along the Greenline.

No wait. It gets better. I finished the Greenline portion and head over to Poplar to head south down Humes. At the corner I push the button and wait for the traffic light to turn red so I could cross Poplar. Light turns red and I wait… as car after car runs the red light. Exasperated, I motion to the next car that is attempting to run the red light. I point at the light. “It’s red!”. Finally all cars stop and I cross Poplar. Poplar and Humes is a very bad intersection to attempt to cross. I’m not sure WHY motorists fail to stop for the red light at the intersection.

The evening did end well. I met my friend and his family at Central BBQ downtown this evening.

ty and paul

Good to see old friends.

Done! I’m beat. See YOU back here for more bbq, bike rides, and beers. Cheers!

Oh, and don’t forget to vote for the Best Memphis Blog!

