Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

Thirsty Thursday Midtown. And boy was I thirsty.

Although I usually ride to Republic Coffee in the morning for my commute to work, I didn’t do so this morning. No time, no time.

In the last couple of weeks I have noticed another guy riding to and from work along the Greenline. Like Louie, he rides west / east (I ride east / west). This new guy “really” pushes it when he rides. He does have a great bike and pro gear. I think he finally figured out today that I commute daily as well.

As I passed by the county jail a man said good morning to me. He then shouted out “I wish I could ride in the morning.” My only reply was “Thanks.” I do get that often, “I wish I could ride my bike to work.” And I am thankful that I can ride my bike to work daily.

Busy day at work. I usually work outside on Thursday for a few hours. Wow. It was HOT today. I work a few hours outside, then I am able to work inside doing paperwork. Not today. I was busy all day today. At 4:00 p.m. I had to put equipment away while working in the sun.

Then it was time for the bike ride home, in the hot sun. I do not mind if the temperature is in the lower 90’s. It is the upper 90’s that causes me to sweat. At least I carry water in my Camel Bak. And… I keep the water cool in the refrigerator at work before the ride. When I started the ride I noticed that the wind had picked up. Hot wind, in my face. Fun. By the time I made it to the bottom of Shelby Farms I gulped down my water. Again at the top of Shelby Farms, I gulped down water. At least the Greenline is shaded a great deal. Passing under 240, I saw a golf cart parked along the Greenline. Riding by, the driver shouted at me asking if I wanted some Gatorade. STOP. Go back. YES, I want some Gatorade! As hot as it was, I needed something extra. While drinking that cold drink, we chatted about the Greenline. The staff were out along the Greenline, making sure everyone had something to drink. THANK YOU Memphis Greenline!

As I neared home in Cooper Young, the sky looked like it was about to pour down rain. Nice quick shower to water my plants.

Apparently some people didn’t know that the inspection stations in Memphis were closing this week. Hello. I received my inspection notice in the mail last week. The only thing I have to do is wait a couple of weeks, then BINGO. Now I only have to send my check into the Shelby County Clerk. Here is the email from Memphis City Hall:

“The Motor Vehicle Inspections Stations will permanently close on Friday, June 28, 2013, at 3:00 pm.  If your motor vehicle registration (tags) expires in June please make sure you have your vehicle inspected before June 28, 2013.”

So who do I send my check to? “Beginning July 1, 2013, the Shelby County Clerk, Wayne Mashburn, will renew vehicle registration without the requirement of motor vehicle inspection.”

I remember going last year to have my vehicle inspected. The person at the center saw my bicycle. “Do you ride your bike?” Me – “Yeah, every day”. I do find it silly to have a vehicle inspection when I take my bike to work daily. Or carry car insurance for using my vehicle so little. But there you go. Maybe the city or county will pay ME to ride my bike to work daily. Just sayin’.

Done! I’m BEAT. Time for a drink then bed. See YOU back here for more bikes, beers and car inspections.

