Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Finally Friday Midtown. Weekend, here…I…come!

My morning started extra early. Friday is Bike To Work Day. I mean nationally it is Bike To Work Day. For me it’s just another day to “bike to work”. I woke up at 6:30 a.m. and put on some bike shorts. By 7:00 a.m. I was headed to Otherlands Coffee Shop. I did read online that the bike to work ride would be cancelled if there was rain Friday morning. Hey, it’s just drizzle right? Well I was the only cyclist who showed up for the Bike To Work ride. No worries. I have taken a ride or three downtown in the past. Linden, here I come. So headed west and jogged a bit north to Linden street.I did notice this on Linden street:

go grizz

Interesting.

After I arrived at Linden, it was a straight shot to downtown from Cooper Young. Yes, the sky drizzled on me a bit. I wore a light jacket which took care of the slight water. The only issue I had with cars was downtown at Third Street. Once I headed south to G.E. Patterson, the traffic was not a problem. I pulled up to Midtown Bike Company and was welcomed by a woman standing under an umbrella. I said hello and was informed I was the THIRD person who showed up at 8:15 a.m. I chatted a bit with her and received my goodie bag:

bike to work 2013

The ride did not include messenger bags this year 😦 Yes, I use my messenger bag (that I received last year from Bike To Work) many times a week. The tire patch kit, carabiner, and flashing light also come in handy. I do wish that Bike To Work would schedule a rain day for the event in the future though.

If you want to read the new book by Dan Brown “Inferno“,

it is available from the Memphis Public Library. Just be prepared to wait half a year to read the book for free. (I saw about 12 people on the waiting list for the digital book.)

Speaking of books, the Matthew Reilly book “Scarecrow Returns” is a page turner.

A great book if you enjoy action and adventure. I am already on page 140. The book is an easy read and a great one. My only problem with the book is that the format is paperback. I would like it better if the book was in a digital format simply because the book would be easier to carry around. (Today the book was in a plastic bag to keep the rain off of it.) I like reading books on my Ipad Mini, or Itouch. I always have one or both with me at all times.

San Antonio Spurs vs Memphis Grizzlies. Here is the debate. I am from San Antonio. I lived there for nearly 30 years. I had season tickets for the Spurs. My parents had season tickets. I now live in Memphis. And now… my San Antonio friends on Facebook are turning on me! Or am I turning on them? Tough place to be. Do you root for the home team or where your home was? A couple of things to note. The Spurs almost always play a “cold” first quarter. I never understood it. Secondly, the Grizzlies HAVE to win in San Antonio to stay in the game. The Spurs will finish Memphis off on the road. Third, the Spurs have a deep bench. By this I mean the Spurs can play all four quarters. Many N.B.A. teams cannot play four quarters. They can play three-quarters, but not four. Fourth, I believe Popovich is a better coach. Sorry, but look at his record. He coaches to win. He has made it to playoffs and championships. Fifth, the grizzlies CANNOT have an “off night”. Memphis cannot win a game on luck. If Memphis wants to win the series they must play like it is their last game, or San Antonio will sweep the team. Just a few of my observations. Like or hate ’em, but it is the truth.

Oh yes, the Zoo Brew is fast upon us. I have attended the Zoo Brew in the past. The event is good. My advice? Get there early, when the gates open. Head over to the high gravity beer booth a.s.a.p. The line is short then and you can keep drinking that delicious high gravity beer as fast as they can pour it. Oink.

I forgot my lunch the other day when I left for work. Thankfully the Farmers Market is nearby and I picked up a few things.

farmers market lunch

All of the above for less than $2. (that is 2 banana’s by the way). And truthfully I was filled up after eating the potato, mini-cucumber, apple and banana’s. You can beat the freshness or the price.

Done. Time to relax and to get ready for the weekend. I will see YOU back here soon for more bikes, beers, and basketball. Believe Memphis.

Memphis Events:

Zoo Brew – 5/24/13 7-10p.m. Memphis Zoo.

8/24/2013 – Midnight Classic Bike Tour– (Midnight – Duh!) Tiger Lane – EXCELLENT! Go!

October 4-6th Bluff City Oktoberfest– Riverside Dr. $5 admission

