Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Waffle Wednesday Midtown. Or should I say “Donut Wednesday”?

My day was a little different today in many ways. First off, I started my work day late, which meant I could get a much-needed haircut. And when I get a haircut, I get donuts. Yes, Epic Salon is near Gibson’s Donuts.

The dounut mecca

The dounut mecca

So every time I am at Epic, I am also at Gibson’s Donuts. Love me the donuts.

gibsons donuts

After picking up the donuts, it was time for a haircut at Epic. After thirty minutes, Pam the hair stylist was finished with my hair and did a great job as always. Seriously, I have gone to Pam for more than six years now and she does a fantastic job for both women and men.

Next stop…. The Book Place. Yes, that small, used book shop at 691 S Mendenhall Rd. I have not been by this place in ages. I walked in and looked around a bit. The older woman at the desk looked at me a bit suspiciously since I was wearing my bike gear. Some “hoodlum” she thought. After a few minutes I picked out a book I have been wanting to read for some time. “Scarecrow Returns” by Matthew Reilly.

I really enjoy the author and the characters he creates. Although I do poke fun at his books from time to time. (In a previous book the hero “escaped” a space shuttle while in flight and “hopped” aboard another space shuttle; in flight. Ummm…?) The Matthew Reilly series are action / adventure books written for guys. I go to purchase the book and the little old lady at the desk tells me I will “love” the book. Not only has she read the “Scarecrow Returns” book, she has read the entire series. She then goes on to show me other “good books” on the shelf. They are all action / adventure books. Wow. She’s good. Very good. (To tell you the truth, I should have had her make me a list of books to get.) We went on to discuss e-book pricing and used book pricing for a short time. I guess books do make strangers into fast friends.

Next stop? The Memphis Greenline. I began my usual ride to work. As I approached the cross street Highland, I noticed another cyclist. We began to chat. He is an M.P.D. officer, just biking for the fun of it in the late morning hour. We talked about bikes and bike rides for 40 minutes while riding to Shelby Farms. I told him I commuted to work daily. He asked what happens when it begins to rain during my ride. “Oh, I have a poncho for that.” He just laughed at that answer. It’s true. I just put a rain poncho on when it begins to rain. Easy. I did tell him he needed to ride in the Midnight Classic Ride and to check into the Cycle Memphis monthly rides. At the top of the hill at Shelby Farms I went my way and he went his way. I guess bikes do make strangers into fast friends.

The ride home this evening went fine. An older cyclist in his late 60’s blew my doors off along the Memphis Greenline. Slow down grandpa!

After arriving home, I noticed my wife had purchased a new book:

Yes, the new Dan Brown book, “Inferno”. Oh yeah, I forgot the book was finally released. “Dan Brown controversy. Dan Brown makes stuff up. Dan Brown blah blah blah.” Love Dan Brown, hate Dan Brown, whatever. I’m going to read the book. The book is FICTION. How a book of FICTION has anything to do with religious beliefs is beyond me. If you are going to change your faith based upon on a BOOK OF FICTION… I just can’t make the connection. And no, I will not get into a “Da Vinci Code” or “Dan Brown” debate, so you can save your comments. I read books on history, non-fiction books, fictional books, biographies, mysteries, ect. I READ. Daily. And so should you.

Done. See YOU back here for more bikes, books and new friends. Cheers.

Memphis Events:

5/17/2013 Bike to Work Day– Ride on down to downtown with others. It’s fun!

8/24/2013 – Midnight Classic Bike Tour– (Midnight – Duh!) Tiger Lane – EXCELLENT! Go!

October 4-6th Bluff City Oktoberfest– Riverside Dr. $5 admission

