Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

Manic Monday Midtown. I hope your Monday went well.

So today was the day I tried out the new bicycle.

new bicycle

I have to say the ride was nice and smooth. I like the new bicycle. As I was riding to work, a guy who I passed asked if I was going on a long journey. “No, I’m just going to work.” I am sure he was speaking of my messenger bag and lunch box strapped to my back. Usually I place my bag and lunch box in my folding bicycle baskets, but I hadn’t switched those to the new bicycle yet. At the top of Shelby Farms, I ran into bicycle commuter Louie. We chatted about my new bicycle for a few minutes, then we were off; he went west, I went east.

Speaking of biking to work, I signed up for the “Bike to Work” day this Friday. One of the meeting locations is Otherlands Coffee Shop. That is where I will be Friday morning. I attended the bike to work event last year and the bike ride downtown was nice. A good ride with others AND I received a cool messenger bag (still using it today) and other goodies. Go!

bike to work 2012 swag

And speaking of bicycles, thanks to reader Matthew Parker for the pannier “fix” suggestion. Although it was not exactly what I needed, I did some research and found what I did need. “P-clamps”. Yes, and those are exactly what they sound like; clamps that look like the letter “P”. Since I do not have “eyelets” on the back side of the bicycle near the axle, the clamps will have to do. After a quick visit to Home Depot, I switched out the pannier rack and folding baskets from the old bicycle to the new bicycle.

If you ride a bicycle, there is a meeting tomorrow evening at Snowden Elementary School at 6:00 p.m. to discuss the McLean bicycle lanes. Me? I enjoy using the McLean bicycle lanes. It makes my ride north to Madison easier. I will probably attend the meeting, although I will be late arriving.

Done. I will see YOU back here for more beers, bikes, and bike to work day. Cheers.

Memphis Events:

5/14/2013 – McLean Public Meeting discussing bike facility improvements along McLean – 6-8 p.m. Snowden Elementary. Go!

5/17/2013 Bike to Work Day– Ride on down to downtown with others. It’s fun!

8/24/2013 – Midnight Classic Bike Tour– (Midnight – Duh!) Tiger Lane – EXCELLENT! Go!

October 4-6th Bluff City Oktoberfest– Riverside Dr. $5 admission

