Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Manic Monday Midtown.

I took this photo outside of Yolo (Midtown location).

moon face

This artwork decorates the top of a Memphis Flyer newsstand. I really like the artwork (based on “A Trip To The Moon”).

We had dinner at Frida’s on Saturday.

margarita Frida's

If you are going to Frida’s, enjoy the margarita’s.

My Monday morning ride was a bit soggy. As I put my messenger bag and lunch box on the bike, the rain began to fall. I do carry a rain poncho, so the rain was not a big deal. I did stop at the beginning of the Greenline to put my messenger bag in a small trash bag to keep the rain off of the messenger bag that carries my work clothes. As I put the messenger bag into the plastic bag, another cyclist passed me by and cheered me on. He knew I was making the trip to work. Yes, the 11.2 mile trip was wet, but otherwise uneventful. I did run into the bicycle commuter Louie near the corrections center at the top of Shelby Farms. We said hello to each other and went our separate ways.

Speaking of bicycles, I ordered a pannier rack for my new beer bicycle last night.

beer bicycle

I also ordered a bicycle bell from New Belgium. I’m waiting to bid on a little something something for the beer bike as well. AND… I did receive my bicycle bike chain bracelet in the mail.

bicycle chain bracelet

The bracelet cost about $10 and I like it. I will probably end up purchasing the larger and heavier motorcycle chain bracelet in the future.

The bicycle ride home this evening was fine. A cyclist kept a good pace behind me starting at the bottom of Shelby Farms. This is my play ground. I’m not about to let someone pass me up. I stayed in the lead to the top of Shelby Farms. “It’s not a race, it’s not a race”. Okay, I let the cyclist pass me by at the beginning of the Greenline. He had good speed for someone riding a mountain bike. A bit silly of me to race others, but that’s how I am some days.

Funny thing happened today. I recently downloaded a book I have been wanting from Amazon.com (I will not say which one). I noticed last week that the book I wanted was priced at “$0.00”. THAT price seemed right. Today I checked the Amazon website and noticed that the Kindle version of the book (which I downloaded) was NOW priced at $9.95. Has this ever happened to anyone else? I know Amazon has specials every now and then, but this appears to be a mistake. I checked my account, and was charged “$0.00” for the book. I wish this would happen to me again when I order airline tickets. Speaking of which…

FINALLY, Southwest Airlines is flying out of Memphis starting in November. NOW I can get that flight to San Antonio without paying 1 arm and 1 leg for tickets. Read more about Southwest Airlines here from the Commercial Appeal.

Done. I’m beat! See YOU back here tomorrow for more bikes, beers and books. Cheers.

Memphis Events:

5/10 – 5/11/13 Memphis Public Library Book Sale – Poplar Location. Go!

5/17/2013 Bike to Work Day– Ride on down to downtown with others. It’s fun!

8/24/2013 – Midnight Classic Bike Tour– (Midnight – Duh!) Tiger Lane – EXCELLENT! Go!

October 4-6th Bluff City Oktoberfest– Riverside Dr. $5 admission

