Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Weekend Midtown. Plenty of things to do and to talk about.

Saturday the rain held my plans in check for some time. Yeah, I went by Republic Coffee to catch up on the news and to drink coffee.

Next up? A wedding. Even better, the wedding was held at the Annesdale Estate at the junction of Central and Lamar. This wedding was the FIRST event to be held after the new owner has (almost) refinished the historical mansion.

annesdale estate memphis

With dark wood paneling, 13 rooms, 4 1/2 baths, 14 foot tall ceilings and nearly 9000 square feet, the mansion takes you back to another time.

annesdale estate memphis

Walking from room to room, the estate shouts “HISTORY”. The pictures do not do the estate justice. You really have to see the place. The lower floor has been restored. The upper floors for the most part have not been restored. Yes, I took a peek up into the tower as well (that was a climb!). It was there I noticed the garden.

annesdale estate memphis

The Annesdale Estate is an excellent place for a wedding. Read more about the renovation of the mansion here from the Commercial Appeal.

Next stop? The Flying Saucer downtown. The last time I was at the Saucer, I signed up for the U.F.O. Club. (over a month ago!) Drink 200 beers, get a plate and a party at the Saucer.

flying saucer memphis

I walked into the joint Saturday evening, and proceeded over to the “beer computer” to choose my beers for the evening. I swiped my card. Didn’t work. I swiped my card again. “Error”. And again. “Double Error”. Ummm… something is not right here. I go back over to my table with my friends and explain my problem to the waitress. “My card doesn’t work.” “You will have to pay $3 for a new card.” “Uh…. I just purchased the club membership. I’ve never used it.” She had me write down my name and went to check on the problem. The waitress later returned to our table. “Your card was never activated.” Not a good start. I couldn’t figure out WHY I was not receiving emails from the Saucer for the last month. They didn’t promote Memphis Beer Week via email? I was not a happy camper. Nothing says “Thanks for joining our club” more than NOT activating your membership card. Just sayin’. I ended up trying a Brooklyn Sorachi Ace. Nice, although a bit hoppy. Next beer? Goose Island 312 ON TAP. Now this is a summer beer. I could drink Goose Island 312 all summer long. Much better than the bottle version; no “twang” flavor. As the Saucer filled with those who didn’t get enough beer (or too much beer) at the Memphis BrewFest, we decided to head out.

I finished the evening up with some Rufus at home. Love me the Rufus.

rufus yazoo glass

Sunday morning. Rise and shine. Time to meet our friends from the Saucer last night at Cafe Eclectic for breakfast. 9:00 a.m. to be exact. I can’t remember the last time I was awake at 8:30 a.m. on a Sunday. And it has been a couple of years since I have been to the Cafe Eclectic. My choice this morning? The bacon waffle.

eclectic cafe bacon waffle

Yes, there is bacon IN the waffle and bacon ON TOP of the waffle. You can never have enough bacon.

My wife ordered the chicken and waffles.

chicken and waffle eclectic cafe

Nothing but love.

Next stop? Southern Hot Wing Festival downtown.

southern hot wing festival 2013

Although it was cloudy at noon, at least it was not raining. We paid for our tickets, then started on the wings.

Wingnuts BBQ

If you like wings, then this is your place to be. Love me the wings. I found a great deal of wet wings, but not many dry wings (I prefer the dry wings). If you wanted “heat”, you got “heat”. Some of those wings were spicy! After eating nearly a dozen wings I was done. My wing fix for the week is now complete.

Next? Dinner at Boscos with friends. And yes, if you are playing at home, we had every meal (breakfast, lunch and dinner) out at various locations today.

Done! What a weekend. Come back tomorrow for more beer, wings, and bikes. Cheers!

Memphis Events:

5/10 – 5/11/13 Memphis Public Library Book Sale – Poplar Location. Go!

5/17/2013 Bike to Work Day– Ride on down to downtown with others. It’s fun!

8/24/2013 – Midnight Classic Bike Tour– (Midnight – Duh!) Tiger Lane – EXCELLENT! Go!

October 4-6th Bluff City Oktoberfest– Riverside Dr. $5 admission

