Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Thirsty Thursday Midtown.

My day began at Republic Coffee. Good way to start your morning. I read the news and checked the social networks. Then it was off for a bicycle ride to work. Beautiful morning for a bike ride. My pac-man wrist bands arrived in the mail, so I put ’em on for the ride.

I also had my “Ride Me” t-shirt on as well.

ride me bicycle t-shirt

Need to know what the back of my bicycle looked like? Here it is. Only today I was carrying my dress jacket on the back as well.

bicycle baskets

No wait, it gets better.

After a long day at work, I began my ride home at 7:15 p.m. This time I had several shoes in the basket, two lunch boxes and more assorted items. Can I add MORE stuff to EITHER bicycle basket? I think my basket needs a basket.

I did run across an item in the new Memphis Flyer this morning. I really thought this ad was funny.

Moving on…. The article about Memphis and beer is really a good article. I was surprised how well the story came out AND I learned things I didn’t know. Read the story from the Memphis Flyer, “Beer Me”, here.

My plan is to leave work early tomorrow and head over to Cash Saver to pick up a growler of “Rufus” sour beer. It is a safe bet this beer will not last long, at all. Get some if you can. The beer is excellent. I believe the beer will cost $15.

Busy, busy weekend ahead. Friday is Trolley Night downtown. Saturday morning is the “Barely a 4K run” downtown. Saturday afternoon is the Memphis Brewfest which should be sold out by now. (insider tip: if you need a ticket and do not have one, try arriving early and hang out near AutoZone park. Take a sign with you; “need two tickets”. I needed an extra ticket for a friend year one, and easily found an extra ticket for the event, at cost!). Saturday is also a wedding I am attending. Then a meetup with a friend for beer. Sunday brings us the Southern Hot Wing Festival downtown. Let’s just say I will be busy this weekend.

Done. See YOU back here for more beers, bikes and wings. Cheers.

4/26/2013 Cash Saver on Madison – Yazoo in-store tasting event, 4-6 p.m. Also, Yazoo growlers will be sold to-go. $8 for Hop Project #71 and $15 for “Rufus” sour collaboration with New Belgium.

4/26/13 Sock It To Me Burlesque– Newby’s. “Sock It To Me Sock Hop” Get your tickets here.

4/26/2013 Trolley Night – S. Main downtown.

4/27/2013 Memphis Brewfest 4-7:30 p.m. AutoZone Park. $41

4/28/13 CHANGE OF DATE! (because of rain, the date is now SUNDAY!) Southern Hot Wing Festival– 11-6 p.m. $7.50 (advance) Go! I LOVED this event last year.

5/10 – 5/11/13 Memphis Public Library Book Sale – Poplar Location. Go!

5/17/2013 Bike to Work Day– Ride on down to downtown with others. It’s fun!

8/24/2013 – Midnight Classic Bike Tour– (Midnight – Duh!) Tiger Lane – EXCELLENT! Go!

October 4-6th Bluff City Oktoberfest– Riverside Dr. $5 admission

