Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Two for Tuesday Midtown. I’m missing a few days here and there. In the words of Metallica, let us get “back to the front”.

Friday night I received a text; “Can you work for me Saturday?”. Ummm… that would be 10 hours on Saturday to be exact. In my youth I would routinely work 18 hour days, back to back. Four shows in a row? 18 hour days? Not a problem. That was then. This is now. I’m not that young anymore. These 10 hour days just destroy me now. I’m not used to the long hours and my body isn’t either. Especially my brain. It just tears me down during these long work days. The work isn’t physical, it’s all mental. But the long work days whip me good.

And then there is the following day; Sunday. After that 10 hour work day, the only thing I want to do is sleep. Not leave the house. Just try to recover. That is all I want to do. This past Sunday I could not do that. I had to attend a wedding. So that is what I did. Nice ceremony and all. Dinner was fine. I ate too much. Way to much. I fell into bed at 8:30 p.m. and slept until 9:30 a.m. the next morning. Wow. I slept mucho Sunday night.

For those of you playing at home, I work late this week and next week. This takes many “Memphis Beer Week” activities off my list. The good news is that Aldo’s Pizza downtown offered Rufus Sour Beer on tap last night. (Rufus, a sour beer collaboration between Yazoo and New Belgium Breweries.) After work I was dropped off near the pizza pie place. First time for me at Aldo’s Pizza. From what I hear, the pizza is good. And the beer selection? Rufus Sour on tap. Wow. Rufus is a sour beer. Two words; EX-CELLENT. After finishing my first beer, I ordered a second Rufus. Doubtful I will have another chance at Rufus any time soon, so I might as well take advantage of Rufus while I can. Love me the Rufus. Sorry, no pictures, forgot the camera at home.

Yes, I meant to place a “Memphis Beer Week” link on my page, but didn’t have time to do so in the past week. Since most of my beer plans have been shot to hell for the rest of the week, the only thing I have planned is getting by Cash Saver on Friday for the growler of Rufus. I talked to the man T.J. last night at Aldo’s. His bet is that Rufus in growlers will not last longer than 30 minutes. He may be right. EVERYONE is loving the Rufus in Memphis.

And it sneaks up on me every month; Trolley Night on S. Main. Yes, Trolley Night is fast approaching. Wonder what downtown will be like on Friday night combining Trolley Night and Memphis Beer Week. That should be interesting. Mark your calendar, Friday April 26th is Trolley Night. If you have never attended Trolley Night on S. Main go! There is art, wine, and people watching.

I am beat. See YOU back here for more events, sour beers and trolley nights. Cheers 🙂

Memphis Events:

4/23 – 4/27/13 Memphis Beer Week If you like beer… there are way to many events to list individually, so read all about Memphis Beer Week at Fuzzy Brew. And check out some of the events!   

4/26/13 Sock It To Me Burlesque– Newby’s. “Sock It To Me Sock Hop” Get your tickets here.

4/26/2013 Trolley Night – S. Main downtown.

4/27/13 Southern Hot Wing Festival– 11-6 p.m. $7.50 (advance) Go! I LOVED this event last year.

5/10 – 5/11/13 Memphis Public Library Book Sale – Poplar Location. Go!

5/17/2013 Bike to Work Day– Ride on down to downtown with others. It’s fun!

8/24/2013 – Midnight Classic Bike Tour– (Midnight – Duh!) Tiger Lane – EXCELLENT! Go!

October 4-6th Bluff City Oktoberfest– Riverside Dr. $5 admission

