Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

Two for Tuesday Midtown.

Yeah, I’ve been gone for a while. Let me tell ya about it.

After all of the things I did on Saturday, taking the weeds out of the flower bed AND jogging; I was beat. Which brings me to Sunday.

Saturday took it OUT of me. I woke up late Sunday morning. Oh yeah, that flower bed that I cleaned out the day before needs flowers. We went off to Home Depot to shop for colorful plants. And this is the point I usually go “plant crazy” during the year. After looking around, I picked out 10 different flowers. This time I went mostly with purple colored plants. I did pick a few white flowers as well. Some flowers from last year needed to be moved around. After about an hour, all of the plants were in their place.

flower bed

flower bed

The bad news? I only took the weeds out of one side of the flower bed. Doh! Which means I have a whole other side to work on. And that means MORE work and MORE flowers. Guess I know what I will be doing next weekend.

So here is my Monday morning story. I took the bike to work early in the morning. When my co-worker arrived at work, she looked at me and asked why I was at work so early. “MMMmmmm…. What do you mean?” “The boss had to go out of town yesterday. You have to cover for him until 7:00 p.m. tonight.” Doh! I didn’t get the memo. Sooo…. I’m working from 10:00 a.m. to 7:00 p.m. right? No. That is incorrect. I forgot; there is a meeting I have to cover STARTING at 7:00 p.m. until 8:00 p.m. Monday will be a LONG day. Oh yeah, I also purchased tickets for the “Found Footage Festival“. The event is sold out. The event STARTS at 7:30 p.m. Monday night.

After working until 8:00 p.m., we made our way back to Midtown to the “Found Footage” show. Yes we arrived late. But we were entertained by the show. “Kenny” was a winner. As well as “Flower Power” (are you on drugs?). “Hand Made Love” just made me look away. “Look away, look away!” These were VERY, VERY BAD video’s. And yes, I was laughing again and again. Great show.

If you are keeping track, I LEFT my bicycle at work Monday night. (I couldn’t ride home AND catch the “Found Footage” show). Which means I drove to work Tuesday. Since I have to work late Wednesday and Thursday, that means I go to work late both days.

This evening, after work, we stopped by Ikes on Union. I have posted before about the “Pick Six” (create your own six-pack of beer) deal for $8.99.

ikes pick six

It appears people are building their own six-pack. Some brands of beer are no longer available. And there are many brands of beer to choose from.

ikes pick six

It looks like Cash Saver has made the competition step up to the plate. I have always been a fan of “make your own” six-pack. You get to try many more beers than you usually would.

Okay, I am done. Get ready for this weekend, because it will be filled with art and crawfish. Cheers.

Memphis Events:

4/19/13 Broad Ave. Spring Arts Walk – 5-10 p.m. FREE! Go!

4/20/13 V&E Greenline Art Walk – 11:30 – 6 p.m. FREE! Go buy some art!

4/20/13 The Harbor Town Crawfish Festival 2-8 p.m.

4/20/13 Heads and Tails Beer & Crawfish Festival – Snowden House Southaven MS. 2-6   $40 advance tickets.

4/21/13 Rajun Cajun Crawfish Festival – 12-6 p.m. FREE (admission) Get yourself some mudbugs.

4/26/13 Sock It To Me Burlesque – Newby’s. “Sock It To Me Sock Hop” Get your tickets here.

4/27/13 Southern Hot Wing Festival – 11-6 p.m. $7.50 (advance) Go! I LOVED this event last year.

5/17/2013 Bike to Work Day – Ride on down to downtown with others. It’s fun!

8/24/2013 – Midnight Classic Bike Tour – (Midnight – Duh!) Tiger Lane – EXCELLENT! Go!

October 4-6th Bluff City Oktoberfest – Riverside Dr. $5 admission

