Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

Saturday. The weather is PERFECT for a day outside.

I went several places today. The first thing I did was ride around Cooper Young on my bicycle, trying out the new bicycle rim. Except for a small catch in the tire, the rim was fine. I can work out that catch tomorrow.

I then pulled weeds from 1/2 of the flower bed. That took me nearly an hour and a half. Way to many weeds left over from last year. The side I cleaned looks much better now. I have to tackle the smaller other half tomorrow.

Next stop? The bank. I went down Central on my bicycle. Turning north, I headed to the bank. I used the drive thru on Union to get cash. No one said anything as I pulled up on my bicycle and used the ATM machine.

Next stop? Overton Square. I made my way down McLean then headed east down Madison. I was greeted by a crowd of people checking out the art for sale, drinking beer and eating mudbugs.

overton square crawfish festival 2013

I’m in. I locked up my bicycle and headed for the crawfish booth. $15 later and I had my box of crawfish.

overton square crawfish 2013

I didn’t have to wait for my crawfish. By 1:30 p.m., the line for crawfish backed up to the entrance of The Bayou. Good thing I arrived early.

Next stop? Otherlands Coffee Shop.

midtownotherlands

No. I’m not cheating on Republic Coffee. It was on the way home! Really! At least that is my excuse. So I sat in the coffee shop and read the NY Times.

Next stop? We headed over to “All About Bikes” on Poplar and S. Mendenhall Rd. I wanted to see how much a “new” bicycle cost. And the bike I like costs $750.00. Can I afford the bicycle? Yes. Do I need a $750 bicycle? No. I also went to another place and checked out a $200 bicycle. I liked this bike, but the gear shifters (integrated shifters) were a bit odd. That is the only reason I didn’t buy the bicycle.

In the evening, we went for a short run in Cooper Young. Perfect weather to get out and do stuff today.

The last stop tonight was Ikes on Union (should have gone to Krogers on Union, much better people watching on Saturday evening. You see it all). I noticed Ikes now has “Pick Six” beers for $8.99. A bit higher in price than Cash Saver on Madison. But there is a good selection of beer to choose from. (And I didn’t have my camera with me…Doh!)

Alright, I am BEAT. See YOU back here for more mudbugs, beer and bikes. Cheers.

Memphis Events:

4/15/13 Found Footage Festival – 7:30 p.m. Monday – Studio on the Square. $12.00 GO!

4/19/13 Broad Ave. Spring Arts Walk – 5-10 p.m. FREE! Go!

4/20/13 V&E Greenline Art Walk – 11:30 – 6 p.m. FREE! Go buy some art!

4/20/13 The Harbor Town Crawfish Festival 2-8 p.m.

4/20/13 Heads and Tails Beer & Crawfish Festival – Snowden House Southaven MS. 2-6   $40 advance tickets.

4/21/13 Rajun Cajun Crawfish Festival – 12-6 p.m. FREE (admission) Get yourself some mudbugs.

4/26/13 Sock It To Me Burlesque – Newby’s. “Sock It To Me Sock Hop” Get your tickets here.

4/27/13 Southern Hot Wing Festival – 11-6 p.m. $7.50 (advance) Go! I LOVED this event last year.

5/17/2013 Bike to Work Day – Ride on down to downtown with others. It’s fun!

8/24/2013 – Midnight Classic Bike Tour – (Midnight – Duh!) Tiger Lane – EXCELLENT! Go!

October 4-6th Bluff City Oktoberfest – Riverside Dr. $5 admission

