Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

Two for Tuesday Midtown. I got mine, you get yours.

My day began early in the morning. At 7:00 a.m. I was fixing a flat tire on my bicycle. Not a problem. Changed out the tube, put everything back together, and tested out the bicycle at home. Works well… until… I start my bike ride to work. The back wheel (the wheel with the flat tire) was a bit wobbly. I stopped to fix the wobbly wheel. My fix only made the wobble worse. Again I stopped to fix the wobble. The wobble wore my patience thin. This is not working. So I hit rewind and headed back to my vehicle to drive to work. Not a happy camper.

I do have better news. The “Found Footage Festival” is returning to Memphis. I saw the last show at Young Avenue Deli. By the end of the show I was CRYING I was laughing so hard. People make the WEIRDEST VIDEO’S EVER. You think you have seen it all? I promise, YOU HAVE NOT (until you see this show). Yes, this show will sell out. Get your tickets now! I have mine, you get yours. Monday 4/15/2013 Studio on the Square. $12.00.

I check the www.biketoworkmemphis.com website on a daily basis. Today there was a post of NEW bike events to get you ready for Bike To Work Day. There are 10 mile rides and 20 mile rides. (And if you keep practicing, you can participate in the Midnight Classic Bicycle Tour in August). The rides begin at Peddler Bike Shop. If you are interested in the Bike To Work event, you should practice with some of these rides. The rides happen Tuesday / Thursday evenings. Start practicing now!

Although there are many who are chatting about the Paul McCartney show here at Fedex Forum in Memphis, most are complaining about the ticket prices; $71 – $2000.00. Yes, there really is a ticket price of $1998.00 (plus $2 fee’s). Before you choke, let me explain how ticket pricing works. In the past, an artist would perform at a venue. The venue and artist would split the gate sales 60/40, 50/50, 80/20, whatever. Today, things are slightly different. Here is an example. “Riff Rifkins”, rock star, will play your venue. BUT… “Riff” doesn’t want a split on the gate sales (ticket sales). “Riff” wants a “guarantee”. “Riff” wants to get at least $100,000.00 for performing at your venue. Now as head of the local venue, you know the public will not pay $100 per ticket for the show (1000 people times $100). You are HOPING that 2000 people will pay $50 per ticket for the show. The math is now backwards. Instead of arriving at the price for tickets by basing your estimates on how your market operates and what people will actually pay for tickets; (otherwise known as “reality”) “I can sell 200 tickets for $75, I can sell 400 tickets for $45 and sell 600 tickets for $20”, the venue is forced to work the math backwards from a “guarantee” (ticket prices NOT based on what people will spend for them. I have to make a $100000.00 “guarantee” for this show. How can I achieve that goal? By setting tickets prices higher than I normally would without a guarantee.) So get this; even though you KNOW FOR SURE this show will not make $100,000.00, YOU STILL PUT THE SHOW ON SALE! Perfect sense right? The venue loses money on the show. “Well it’s the cost of production that is high (lie). The artist will go to another venue to perform if we do not book him (so what).” And my personal favorite reason; “The artists’ manager is a friend of mine, and I have to stick by his manager as a FAVOR”. Really? Your show LOSES MONEY because the manager is your friend? It is the “guarantee” that is killing live entertainment. In the past I have argued that the artist go to another venue to perform the show when they have tried to drive the guarantee price up. And this was one of my favorite groups! In the end the artist did play our venue. We did make money on this show. But these cases are far and in between. Want to know WHY your parking fee’s are so high? Guarantee’s. Want to know why the “service charge” is so high? Guarantee’s. The venue HAS TO MAKE MONEY SOMEHOW. Mmmm… that $8.00 beer you purchased? ($16 if you are on a date) Blame it on the guarantee. Well you don’t HAVE to buy a beer. Correct. But you do get stuck with “service fee’s” and “parking fee’s”. And remember TAX IS ON TOP of those fee’s. $35 t-shirts? Yup, the venue must make money somehow, because the venue is not making money from the artist itself. To be fair, the artist is not making money the same way anymore. Bands used to sell millions of records, get their money, and buy stupid stuff. When is the last time you purchased an album? Or CD? Or the ENTIRE MP3 album? Oh yeah, you purchased the one or two best songs from the album. Now the artist must raise his guarantee to make up for his very small “record sales”. Do I buy CD’s? Oh yes. The entire thing. Do I buy them when they are first released? No. Do I purchase used CD’s? Oh yes. I have hundreds of them at home. Is digital music the problem? Are you the problem? Am I the problem? I have worked on events where I knew from day one that the event would be cancelled, even before the event went on sale, because the audience would not purchase tickets at those high prices. I have been there. I worked in the industry for many years. Me? When I attend shows now, I buy the lowest priced tickets available. I don’t buy a t-shirt at the event. Most of the shows I want to see are NOT worth $20 of my hard-earned money, much less $71. Why do most people only attend 2 concerts a year on average? That is all they can afford. Two last things. The first show I attended in 1982 cost $7… TOTAL. Three bands for $7.00. “Service charge” is now higher than that for most large events. Many years ago I had two FREE tickets to attend a Paul McCartney show… and I gave the tickets away. “Can’t buy me love….” (I have no ax to grind with McCartney. Just talking about the industry.)

Get ready for the Overton Square Crawfish Festival. The mudbug fest is coming up soon.

overton square crawfish festival

Done. I will see YOU back here for more bikes, found footage and tickets. Cheers.

Memphis Events:

4/13/13 Overton Square Crawfish Festival 12-6p.m. Get your mudbugs!

4/15/13 Found Footage Festival – 7:30 p.m. Monday – Studio on the Square. $12.00 GO!

4/19/13 Broad Ave. Spring Arts Walk – 5-10 p.m. FREE! Go!

4/20/13 V&E Greenline Art Walk – 11:30 – 6 p.m. FREE! Go buy some art!

4/20/13 The Harbor Town Crawfish Festival 2-8 p.m.

4/20/13 Heads and Tails Beer & Crawfish Festival – Snowden House Southaven MS. 2-6   $40 advance tickets.

4/21/13 Rajun Cajun Crawfish Festival – 12-6 p.m. FREE (admission) Get yourself some mudbugs.

4/27/13 Southern Hot Wing Festival – 11-6 p.m. $7.50 (advance) Go! I LOVED this event last year.

5/17/2013 Bike to Work Day – Ride on down to downtown with others. It’s fun!

8/24/2013 – Midnight Classic Bike Tour – (Midnight – Duh!) Tiger Lane – EXCELLENT! Go!

October 4-6th Bluff City Oktoberfest – Riverside Dr. $5 admission

