Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Manic Monday Midtown. Short post today.

My morning was busier than usual. First stop was at Republic Coffee. Got me some caffeine to get my morning in gear.

My second stop was at “Just For Lunch”, the restaurant next to the public library on Poplar. Since the place was so close to Republic Coffee, I just walked over. Time to walk the short distance? About 10 minutes. I usually eat here once a month. Every time I eat at “Just For Lunch” I have the salmon. And every time I eat here, I snack on the salad my wife orders; the chicken tastes GREAT. I also had a side of green beans which was very good.

Next? I unloaded my bicycle and headed east down the Memphis Greenline. Today I tried something different. I had heard about interval training and losing weight after reading THIS article from the Lifehacker.com website. I would change gears to something more easy and pump my legs for 8 seconds. Then I would change gears again to something more difficult and take it easy for 12 seconds. Repeat. For 20 minutes. Although the changing gears part was bothersome, it wasn’t to bad. The article stated that the 8 second / 12 second intervals helped people to lose weight. The downside is that you can only do this routine for about 12 weeks. I am interested to see how the results of this training pan out. Usually I ride at 11 miles per hour. Today I varied it up with the 8 / 12 second intervals.

When I finished work late tonight, I changed into my bicycle gear (shorts and a t-shirt; finally!). I loaded up the bicycle and checked my tires and… discovered my back tire was flat. Talk about taking the air out of my evening. Not good. Even though I had a spare tire, I just didn’t have it in me to change the tire AND ride home in the dark. I could do one of those things, but not both. Checking back from past posts, it appears I had a flat tire in mid July 2012. And before that February 2012. Not bad. Still I despise flat tires. So yes, I will be up early tomorrow morning fixing that flat tire.

Get ready for the Overton Square Crawfish Festival. The mudbug fest is coming up soon.

overton square crawfish festival

Done. Tired. I will see YOU back here for more bikes, beers and crawfish. Cheers.

Memphis Events:

4/13/13 Overton Square Crawfish Festival 12-6p.m. Get your mudbugs!

4/19/13 Broad Ave. Spring Arts Walk – 5-10 p.m. FREE! Go!

4/20/13 V&E Greenline Art Walk – 11:30 – 6 p.m. FREE! Go buy some art!

4/20/13 The Harbor Town Crawfish Festival 2-8 p.m.

4/20/13 Heads and Tails Beer & Crawfish Festival – Snowden House Southaven MS. 2-6   $40 advance tickets.

4/21/13 Rajun Cajun Crawfish Festival – 12-6 p.m. FREE (admission) Get yourself some mudbugs.

4/27/13 Southern Hot Wing Festival – 11-6 p.m. $7.50 (advance) Go! I LOVED this event last year.

5/17/2013 Bike to Work Day – Ride on down to downtown with others. It’s fun!

8/24/2013 – Midnight Classic Bike Tour – (Midnight – Duh!) Tiger Lane – EXCELLENT! Go!

October 4-6th Bluff City Oktoberfest – Riverside Dr. $5 admission

