Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

Another wonderful day in Cooper Young.

Although the weather was slightly cloudy today, I had places to go to. I unlocked my bicycle and headed over to Republic Coffee. That was a nice 15 minute ride. I drank my coffee and read the news. An hour later it was time for my second stop; Cheffie’s.

Today was the “$15 All You Can Eat Crawfish Boil”. Oink. I arrived at 1:00 p.m. Guess what? The crawfish were ready to eat ON TIME. There were about 30 people already there when I arrived.

cheffies crawfish 2013

I paid my money and grabbed a box of mudbugs.

cheffies crawfish 2013

Corn, potato’s, and sausage were also included. Beer was $4.50 (a bit steep for me). I drank water. So I stood at a table and ate the crawfish. Someone had a car stereo dialed in on a classic rock station. PERFECT. Good food and classic rock. You can’t beat it.

My wife arrived later and she ordered a salad while I ate my mudbugs. A woman sitting next to us asked if I would instruct her how one exactly ate the crawfish. So I showed her. The crawfish tasted very good. After THREE boxes I was DONE. Oink.

Next stop; East Buntyn Artwalk. That’s the neighborhood near Highland and Central. The only time I have been thru this neighborhood is after shopping at Peddler Bike Shop. So we walked around and looked at different art.

east buntyn artwalk

I’m guessing 15 homes had artwork booths in front of the houses. I hope this event gets bigger next year. We did see this super cool car:

tiger car memphis

And there is a “Little Free Library” in the neighborhood.

east buntyn little free library

My wife left me back at Cheffie’s to pick up my bicycle for the ride home. Wow. Good thing I arrived early for this Crawfish Boil. The place was PACKED with MANY people standing in line for crawfish. Since I ate earlier, I never had to wait in line. Thank you for the great food Cheffie’s!

To end the day, I ran in Cooper Young for a short while. What a great way to spend a Sunday. Plans for tomorrow? Coffee, lunch, bike to work, then an evening bike ride home. Should be fun.

Done. See YOU back here for more bike rides, crawfish and art. Cheers.

Memphis Events:

4/13/13 Overton Square Crawfish Festival 12-6p.m. Get your mudbugs!

4/19/13 Broad Ave. Spring Arts Walk – 5-10 p.m. FREE! Go!

4/20/13 V&E Greenline Art Walk – 11:30 – 6 p.m. FREE! Go buy some art!

4/20/13 The Harbor Town Crawfish Festival 2-8 p.m.

4/20/13 Heads and Tails Beer & Crawfish Festival – Snowden House Southaven MS. 2-6   $40 advance tickets.

4/21/13 Rajun Cajun Crawfish Festival – 12-6 p.m. FREE (admission) Get yourself some mudbugs.

4/27/13 Southern Hot Wing Festival – 11-6 p.m. $7.50 (advance) Go! I LOVED this event last year.

5/17/2013 Bike to Work Day – Ride on down to downtown with others. It’s fun!

8/24/2013 – Midnight Classic Bike Tour – (Midnight – Duh!) Tiger Lane – EXCELLENT! Go!

October 4-6th Bluff City Oktoberfest – Riverside Dr. $5 admission

