Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

Sunshine! Winter has finally left Memphis. Love it.

My day started at 9:45 a.m. I jumped on the bicycle and headed over to the Cooper Young Farmers Market. Time for the Cooper Young Crawfish Boil. When I arrived I saw many sights.

life is beautiful

pony express

“The Pony Express”. Interesting.

At 10:00 a.m. the crawfish were not ready. Hmmm… I have worked many, many events in the past. If an event is advertised as STARTING at 10:00 a.m., well it should start at 10:00 a.m. Change in plan. I took the bicycle and headed over to Republic Coffee. 20 minutes later I was sipping on some coffee. I figured I would read the news for a while and then head back to the Farmers Market Crawfish Boil. The weather was PERFECT for a nice ride on the bicycle.

Take two. After reading the news, I headed BACK to the Cooper Young Farmers Market. I purchased a ticket for $13 and I stood in line for the crawfish.

"You looking at me?"

“You looking at me?”

They gave me a big serving of mudbugs. I sat at a table with a couple of others. The woman instructed the man next to me on how to eat the crawfish. My thoughts on the crawfish? MORE SPICE PLEASE. I do not mean “HOT”, I mean the crawfish didn’t have much taste to them. On the up side, the portions were very good. It took me some time to get thru the crawfish.

After the boil, I headed back home. A few hours later we were up for a run in Cooper Young. Perfect way to end the day.

Plans for Sunday? A bicycle ride to Cheffie’s for crawfish. Should be fun. Come back tomorrow for more bikes, beers and crawfish. Cheers.

Memphis Events:

4/7/13 1-5 Cheffie’s Patio ALL YOU CAN EAT CRAWFISH High Point Terrace. $15. Go!

CHEFFIESCRAWFISH

4/7/2013 3-7 Crawfish Festival – Green Beetle downtown. Go!

greenbeetlecrawfish2013

4/13/13 Overton Square Crawfish Festival 12-6p.m. Get your mudbugs!

4/19/13 Broad Ave. Spring Arts Walk – 5-10 p.m. FREE! Go!

4/20/13 V&E Greenline Art Walk – 11:30 – 6 p.m. FREE! Go buy some art!

4/20/13 The Harbor Town Crawfish Festival 2-8 p.m.

4/20/13 Heads and Tails Beer & Crawfish Festival – Snowden House Southaven MS. 2-6   $40 advance tickets.

4/21/13 Rajun Cajun Crawfish Festival – 12-6 p.m. FREE (admission) Get yourself some mudbugs.

4/27/13 Southern Hot Wing Festival – 11-6 p.m. $7.50 (advance) Go! I LOVED this event last year.

5/17/2013 Bike to Work Day – Ride on down to downtown with others. It’s fun!

8/24/2013 – Midnight Classic Bike Tour – (Midnight – Duh!) Tiger Lane – EXCELLENT! Go!

October 4-6th Bluff City Oktoberfest – Riverside Dr. $5 admission

