Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Wow. What a GREAT day in Memphis. Let me tell ya about it.

The weather was beautiful outside. I unlocked my bicycle and took a ride down Madison. First stop? Tip Top Liquor Store.

tip top liquor

That’s right, I am using the bike lane and spending money along Madison. Just sayin’.

Next stop? I wanted to check out the new 5 Guys Burgers and Fries on Union. Yes I have tried 5 Guys in the past, but I thought I would have a look and take a picture.

5 guys burgers and fries

Since I had other lunch plans, I decided to wait on the 5 Guys burger today. I am riding by 5 Guys and a group of young men walk by as I ride along. As I passed them, they laughed at me a bit. Hmmm…. you obviously are not out for a walk to exercise, which leads me to believe you don’t have a car… or a bike. And I have both… #JealousOfMyBicycle.

Next stop? Chiwawas. The joint opened at noon. I was one of the first customers today. The outdoor patio is great. Lots of wood.

chiwawa patio memphis

After looking over the menu

chiwawa menu memphis

I ordered a Chiwawa hotdog and a pork taco. The hotdog arrived with grilled pineapple and avocado on top.

chiwawa hotdog memphis

Oh, and the dog is bacon wrapped. (not THICK slices of bacon though. The bacon is thinly sliced). I liked the dog, I just wished there was more bacon flavor. The pork taco also came with grilled pineapple.

chiwawa pork taco memphis

The taco was good as well. Overall the service was very good. I can see myself sitting on the patio eating a dog and drinking a beer. I will be back.

chiwawa midtown is memphis

Yes, I used the bike lane on Madison and spent MORE MONEY on Madison. Bike lanes bring money.

After filling up with dogs and tacos, it was time for a trip to Republic Coffee. I took Madison to Cooper, then headed down Central. A few minutes later I headed north to Walnut Grove Rd. I sat and read the news and sipped my coffee.

Next stop? I went home to pick up my wife for Mudbugs in March downtown. The park was crowded when we arrived downtown in this beautiful weather.

mudbugs in march 2013 memphis

Oink. Yeah, I ate all of those mudbugs. How ’bout some bbq nachos?

bbq nachos mudbugs in march 2013

Double oink.

After the nachos and mudbugs, we took a walk. Straight to the Flying Saucer. I heard about a wonderful beer called Goose Island 312.

goose island 312

This beer is GREAT. I could drink this beer ALL DAY LONG. A VERY NICE wheat beer. Love it.

So after finishing my one beer  😦  we headed to Beale St. Landing. We had been here many months ago, prior to the facility opening. Today we were able to see the gift shop and take a walk on top of the grass roof.

beale st. landing memphis

Once the entire project is complete, I believe the whole park will look awesome.

Oh yeah, I did purchase Castle Doctrine last night for $8. A PC game which looks old school. The game is more difficult than I thought the game would be. You build a house and protect your vault with traps, guard dogs, ect. Then you go out and STEAL from other houses. Sometimes I do well, and other times… well I get killed by 100 guard dogs. Ooops.

Done. I am beat. You kicked my butt Memphis. See YOU back here for more mudbugs, beers and bikes. Cheers.

Memphis Events:

3/17/13 Crawfish Boil – Slider Inn (Cooper and Peabody) $15 = 2 pound = 1 plate. Live music to boot. Go!

4/13/13 Overton Square Crawfish Festival 12-6p.m. Get your mudbugs!

4/19/13 Broad Ave. Spring Arts Walk – 5-10 p.m. FREE! Go!

4/20/13 V&E Greenline Art Walk – 11:30 – 6 p.m. FREE! Go buy some art!

4/21/13 Rajun Cajun Crawfish Festival – 12-6 p.m. FREE (admission) Get yourself some mudbugs.

4/27/13 Southern Hot Wing Festival – 11-6 p.m. $7.50 (advance) Go! I LOVED this event last year.

5/17/2013 Bike to Work Day – Ride on down to downtown with others. It’s fun!

