Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Waffle Wednesday people. Get some.

I was too tired to deal with the cold and wind this morning, so I left the bike and took the car to work. Where is global warming when you need it?

Reading the news, I discovered that the former drummer for Iron Maiden, Clive Burr, had passed away last night. I was fortunate enough to have attended a performance back in the day (August 16th, 1982 to be exact). That tour consisted of Maiden (Number Tour) opening for Scorpions (Blackout Tour). Yeah, that was a “killer” show. The ticket price for the event was $7.00. You read that right…not $70…. $7.00. And I still have that ticket stub somewhere. Although I did get to meet the members of Maiden years later (several times), I didn’t meet Clive. Just listen to any track from the first three Maiden albums and you can hear the thunder of the drums. You will be missed Clive.

Another sad note; local high school students cannot multiply. I was asked by a teen for help on a math problem. “I don’t know where to put the decimal point.” After looking over her math, I discovered she couldn’t multiply a three digit number by a two digit number. Really? I flunked high school geometry ONCE, and barely passed the class the second time ’round. I took college algebra THREE TIMES. I am not good at math, but I can multiply numbers. Inner city school? No, she attends school in the burbs. Good luck Shelby County School District. #NotTeachingMathAnymore #TheNewMath

Dinner tonight? Ribs at The BBQ Shop on Madison. Best ribs in town.

BBQ Shop Ribs

And I have enough left over to take to lunch tomorrow. My co-workers will be jealous.

Speaking of co-workers, a friend and I were talking about beer at work yesterday. He was interrupted by his cell phone ringing. He had a call to take. After speaking for several minutes on the phone, he finished the call. “That was the liquor store calling. They received a new shipment of beer.” Are you kidding me? Yes, the liquor store calls him when they get his brand of beer in. That my friends is called a professional.

Want to get ahead in business? Here are some helpful hints. I had a meeting today with a business supplier. The meeting is scheduled to begin at 1:00 p.m. I am ready for this meeting. At 5 minutes past 1:00, the guy calls to ask for directions. Really? I am THAT important to YOUR company, that you do not bother to look up directions, or bother to get the directions sooner? I hate when people are late. BE ON TIME. One of the first questions the first gentleman asked was “What is it that your company does?” Wow. You didn’t even bother to look up what we did? We have an account with your company, right? At that point I knew these guys were “suits”. The second guy was head of I.T. I will guess he has a master’s degree in B.S. because as soon as I asked a technical question, his eyes glazed over and then got around to stating the “tech guys” would research a particular solution. (Not holding my breath.) “I” will do the research to find the solution. Much faster than waiting for the “tech guys” to come up with the answer. So rule number one, don’t be late. Rule number two, do some research prior to your visit.

On the way home I picked up some Brooklyn Black Chocolate Stout at Busters. $8.99 a four pack. ABV is 10%.

brooklyn black chocolate stout

Yes, this would be a beer you would drink one at a time. (side note, my father went to school with the founder of the brewery in Ohio. I also grew up near  that VERY small southern Ohio town. Small world.)

Done. Time for ONE beer. See YOU back here for more bikes, beers and BBQ. Cheers.

Memphis Events:

3/14/13 Brew Movement Against MS – Pink Palace Museum, 6:30 – 9:30 p.m. Cost? $30 (advance tickets)

3/16/13 Mudbugs in March 2pm – 8pm – Court Square Park $5 admission. Beer, music and mudbugs. Go!

3/17/13 Crawfish Boil – Slider Inn (Cooper and Peabody) $15 = 2 pound = 1 plate. Live music to boot. Go!

4/13/13 Overton Square Crawfish Festival 12-6p.m. Get your mudbugs!

4/19/13 Broad Ave. Spring Arts Walk – 5-10 p.m. FREE! Go!

4/20/13 V&E Greenline Art Walk – 11:30 – 6 p.m. FREE! Go buy some art!

4/21/13 Rajun Cajun Crawfish Festival – 12-6 p.m. FREE (admission) Get yourself some mudbugs.

4/27/13 Southern Hot Wing Festival – 11-6 p.m. $7.50 (advance) Go! I LOVED this event last year.

5/17/2013 Bike to Work Day – Ride on down to downtown with others. It’s fun!

