Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

Manic Monday Midtown. I hope you survived the day.

So I am at Republic Coffee, drinking some coffee and reading the news… The Commercial Appeal to be specific. The article “A Message From Our Publisher” caught my eye. No more FREE news from the Commercial Appeal. For a very long time, I couldn’t figure out why the paper was allowing the public to read the paper for free. Why would I pay for it when the paper is online for free. Not that I read many of the articles in the paper. There just are not many items in the daily paper that interest me. I may read ONE article a day at most. Should the paper be free? I don’t think so. After making that statement… I checked this afternoon for the subscription price…

commercial appeal subscription

(yes, this is an actual screen shot from my computer. “print screen” function key thank you.)  I am pretty sure my credit card would be approved for that charge. The CA should have just gone for the extra penny and made the cost for the paper an even “ONE MILLLLLLION DOLLARS”. Having the Commercial Appeal delivered to the house for $999,999.99….. THAT sounds like a deal! I wonder if the city or county purchased that million dollar subscription yet.

When I started my bicycle ride to work this morning, I was stunned to see something new along the Greenline. A new sign, benches… and a water fountain… at the west end of the Greenline.

Memphis greenline benches

Not the greatest picture, but you get the idea. (My camera is broken. I took this picture with my Ipad Mini. I didn’t attempt a traditional photo shoot in this particular area of town) The fountain is located to the left of the center bench. Not to make fun, but those benches will be a great place for people to sit down… and ask for change. Why stand near Republic Coffee asking me for change in the street, when you can sit on this nice bench and ask the public for change. Can’t wait for the first request. “Hey man, do you have any…” As I roll on past. But maybe I am wrong. I hope I am.

The ride to work was chilly but good. I made the first 6.5 miles in 33 minutes. Good time for me. Then I headed south and had the wind blowing in my face. Doh! I did see Louie (he is the west/east commuter, I am the east/west commuter) heading west near Shelby Farms. And he was wearing shorts. Dude, it’s 40 degree’s outside! Some are braver than others.

It must have been “Dumb Monday”, because I heard many stupid statements today at work. I just hope it doesn’t carry over to Tuesday.

The ride home wasn’t so good. I couldn’t get things settled for the ride home. I stopped to put my gloves on. I stopped to put my balaclava on my head. I stopped to put my ear muffs on. Things were not going my way this afternoon. The ride time was not good. Cold wind was blowing in my face the entire way home. Not fun.

In the news… (but NOT from the Commercial Appeal) Chiwawa is opening this week at 2059 Madison. Wow! All of the talk about food at this place is making me want to check this place out NOW! Mexican food and dogs? I want all of that food RIGHT NOW! And then there is mention of the bar. This joint is going to make a million dollars this summer. Cheap and good food? Sign me up. I am already thinking of that bike ride to Chiwawas. Read more about the new restaurant from the Memphis Daily News Blog.

Done. Monday took it out of me today. Maybe Tuesday will be better. See YOU back here for more bikes, benches and mexican food. Cheers.

Memphis Events:

3/14/13 Brew Movement Against MS – Pink Palace Museum, 6:30 – 9:30 p.m. Cost? $30 (advance tickets)

3/16/13 Mudbugs in March 2pm – 8pm – Court Square Park $5 admission. Beer, music and mudbugs. Go!

3/17/13 Crawfish Boil – Slider Inn (Cooper and Peabody) $15 = 2 pound = 1 plate. Live music to boot. Go!

4/13/13 Overton Square Crawfish Festival 12-6p.m. Get your mudbugs!

4/19/13 Broad Ave. Spring Arts Walk – 5-10 p.m. FREE! Go!

4/20/13 V&E Greenline Art Walk – 11:30 – 6 p.m. FREE! Go buy some art!

4/21/13 Rajun Cajun Crawfish Festival – 12-6 p.m. FREE (admission) Get yourself some mudbugs.

4/27/13 Southern Hot Wing Festival – 11-6 p.m. $7.50 (advance) Go! I LOVED this event last year.

