Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Thirsty Thursday Midtown. Get some.

I was looking at the new edition of the Memphis Flyer when I noticed something strange. There is an ad for the Slider Inn for crawfish on St. Patrick’s Day. I “thought” I saw this same ad last week, except something had changed this week.

slider inn st. patricks day 2013

Sooo…. March 17th at Slider Inn, you can get “2” pounds of crawfish for $15 (ad on the right). The edition last week featured the ad (left side) “1” pound for $10. Yes, I am confused.

Wait, there is more confusion. I will not state which local liquor establishment announced a beer tasting TODAY… for an event that happens TODAY. Wow. Hey I can make plans… for today. “Where is the public?”. Yeah, wonder why. Posting an event 4 HOURS BEFORE THE EVENT USING SOCIAL MEDIA WILL NOT HELP YOUR BUSINESS. There was a beer tasting event in February at this same business. At least then the business posted the event using social media 24 hours prior to the event. At least.

MORE confusion. The “wine in the grocery store” debate. I LOVED how one liquor store employee, when interviewed for the local news last week, stated that selling wine in grocery stores would make wine “convenient for the public”. Really? Why would ANYONE want ANYTHING to be convenient for (me) the PUBLIC? You mean when I stop by the grocery store once a week, I can buy a cheap bottle of wine? That is WAY TO EASY. I think I should make TWO stops; one at the grocery store and one at the liquor store. The same employee went on to state that liquor store employees and customers have a “one on one relationship” at the liquor store. From memory that relationship in liquor stores consists of “That’ll be $12.99. Cash or credit?” I am sure a grocery store employee can give me that SAME EXACT RELATIONSHIP. I will not drive by Krogers to pick up a good bottle of wine. Doubtful that “Eddie”, who is 17 years old and works weekends, will know a “good” red wine to drink. But I should have the choice to buy a cheap bottle of wine at Krogers. Read more about the debate in the Commercial Appeal Article here. Chip Christianson piped in on the debate with these wise words:

“Chip Christianson, a Nashville liquor retailer and board member of the Tennessee Wine and Spirits Retailers Association, vowed to continue trying to kill the bill outright. “I don’t really know what that (negotiations) means. As a retailer, I don’t want any more hours. As an association, we don’t think Sunday sales are a good idea. And I’ll show you around liquor stores: we don’t have room for beer. I don’t want beer. I don’t want my staff distracted on that.”

He doesn’t want his staff DISTRACTED by beer? Are there naked lady pictures on beer cans now, to distract the employees? (and where can I get said beer cans? At Chips store? #OnTheWay) Or you can read this is as “I DON’T WANT TO CHANGE… EVER”.

Did you know that you can buy high gravity beers and wine in grocery stores in Texas? GASP! And they have liquor stores in Texas as well? Wow. Texas has some of the most outdated alcohol laws in the country. (trust me, I worked in the industry; on the distributor side and the server side. And you can’t do both (serve and distribute) at the same time in Texas. And as a distributor, you cannot touch (distribute) beer until 12 p.m. on Sundays)

Lastly, Ed Orcutt a Washington State Rep., stated “You would be giving off more CO2 if you are riding a bike than driving in a car,” he said. However, he said he had not “done any analysis” of the difference in CO2 from a person on a bike compared to the engine of a car. (read the article here)

Spoken like a TRUE politician. LOVE IT. Ed, if you lose your office up north, we have PLENTY of room for you here in Memphis and Shelby County. But you have plenty of competition from Janis Fullilove and Terry Roland. Please bring your stripper pole and be ready to fight (or “wrassle”) anyone who doesn’t agree with you.

P.S. If you have not watched the movie “Idiocracy“, just read your newspaper instead. Same thing.

Memphis Events:

3/14/13 Brew Movement Against MS – Pink Palace Museum, 6:30 – 9:30 p.m. Cost? $30 (advance tickets)

3/16/13 Mudbugs in March 2pm – 8pm – Court Square Park $5 admission. Beer, music and mudbugs. Go!

3/17/13 Crawfish Boil – Slider Inn (Cooper and Peabody) $15 = 2 pound = 1 plate. Live music to boot. Go!

4/13/13 Overton Square Crawfish Festival 12-6p.m. Get your mudbugs!

4/19/13 Broad Ave. Spring Arts Walk – 5-10 p.m. FREE! Go!

4/20/13 V&E Greenline Art Walk – 11:30 – 6 p.m. FREE! Go buy some art!

4/21/13 Rajun Cajun Crawfish Festival – 12-6 p.m. FREE (admission) Get yourself some mudbugs.

4/27/13 Southern Hot Wing Festival – 11-6 p.m. $7.50 (advance) Go! I LOVED this event last year.

