Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

Manic Monday Midtown. Oh… that hurt.

So…. I took the bicycle to work today. Other than the wind, the ride was great. I didn’t have to wear three layers of clothing for the ride. Nice. Other than that wind blowing in my face, all was good. I even made good time during the ride.

The ride home was a different story. My work schedule this week is 12-7. No problem. I’ve commuted in the dark before. The temperature this evening was perfect for a night ride. Why ride on a seldom used street, when I could bike on a small trail? Tonight I took that different route home. There is a small dirt path on the south side of Shelby Farms that runs parallel to Walnut Grove Rd. (south side of Walnut Grove Rd) For the most part the trail is good. There are two exceptions though. Parts of this trail are very narrow, with a fall off on the south side of the trail. If you are steady and sure, no problem. So I’m riding along and the bike path turns into grass. I WAS on the right  trail. (there is a left and right path) Hmmm… well I will just move over to the left dirt trail… (which is 4 inches wide). In the dark. That SMOOTH cross over was in reality a ROUGH cross over to the dirt trail. My tire went over the edge of the left trail. I turned the wheel right to get back on the trail… and the bike went left and my body went right. DAMN that hurt. I was sitting on the ground, checking to make sure no bones were sticking out. Ummm… there was blood on my hand. Great. Since I was in the dark, I decided NOT to check other body parts. No worries, the bike is fine. My right hand, leg and elbow are not though. I jumped back on the bicycle and continued my ride. Yeah… this is gonna hurt in the morning. Even better, that hurt right leg kept going up and down, up and down for 11.2 miles. Work thru the pain. That’s the spirit. With less than 3.5 miles to go, the rain started. Really? It has to rain at night, just after I fell off the bicycle? Thanks. Nothing a medication called BEER can’t fix.

“The Wine-ification of beer?” Read all about it from the local blogger tenncyn “Hoppy Ever After“. The post was based on a NY Times article. I read The Times but I must have missed this article. Hmm… bombers… 22 ounces of beer in a bottle. My two cents; I rarely get these sized bottles. Now if I REALLY like the beer, okay I will get one. I’m drinking (less than) TWO bottles of beer. I haven’t checked out the article yet, so I can’t really comment. It does make me think of the song “Bomber” by Motorhead though. (or is that the medication talking?) Bash it out Lemmy!

Yeah, I’m ending this post early. Trying to ignore the pain on the right side of my body. Have a great Tuesday and DON’T FALL OFF YOUR BIKES! Ouch…

Memphis Events:

3/14/13 Brew Movement Against MS – Pink Palace Museum, 6:30 – 9:30 p.m. Cost? $30 (advance tickets)

3/16/13 Mudbugs in March 2pm – 8pm – Court Square Park $5 admission. Beer, music and mudbugs. Go!

3/17/13 Crawfish Boil – Slider Inn (Cooper and Peabody) $10 = 1 pound = 1 plate. Live music to boot. Go!

4/13/13 Overton Square Crawfish Festival 11-6p.m. Get your mudbugs!

