Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

Thirsty Thursday Midtown. Time for a drink!

No bike ride to work today, I have things to do! After work I went to get my hair cut. And it just so happens that Gibson’s Donuts is right next door to the place.

Gibson's donuts

Heaven

Heaven

What is NOT to love about Gibson’s Donuts. Since I usually stop by in the evening, I have fewer choices of donuts. (Half the shelf is always sold out by the time I get there). Here is a hint from the counter person working tonight. You can call ahead and “reserve” some donuts to be picked up later. Ohhhhh…. Good idea.

Then I raced home to change and headed to the Brooks Museum for the film “Bicycle Dreams”. The audience was near capacity tonight. The film is about a race… 3051 miles across America in 10 days or less. ARE. YOU. KIDDING. ME? The better cyclists average 375 miles… A DAY. That number is very difficult to get your head around. The cyclists sleep very little while racing. The film is about courage, stamina, death, and insanity. Heavy on the insanity. I was awestruck many times during the film. If you own a bicycle or are an athlete, watch this movie. Talk about motivation. I ride 22.4 miles a day. I will NEVER say I am tired again. And NO, I have no desire to race 3051 miles in 10 days. EVER. Thank you Brooks Museum for bringing the movie to our neighborhood. Some of the best movies are presented by the Brooks Museum.

Done. I have to rest up for my ride to work tomorrow morning. I will see YOU back here for more bikes, beers, and donuts. Cheers.

Memphis Events:

Trolley Night – 1/25/2013 – Downtown – South Main 6:00 p.m. Go!

Newbie Brew Day – Jan. 27th Get more information at Fuzzy Brew. Go… and make beer!

Cupids Revenge – Sock It To Me Burlesque – Feb. 2nd 9:00 p.m. Newbys. Go!

Brooklyn Brewery Tap Takeover – Feb. 4th Flying Saucer 7:00 p.m. and Feb. 6th for Brewery Night. Go!

